Records found and checked by machines, not reviewed by an editor · What this means →

Record explorer

Explore the documentary record

Every claim links to its source passage,
its dates where known and its limits.

Institutional dossier

Amazon

Built from the same claims and evidence as the map.

Institutional dossier

The documented history of Amazon: chronology, people, research, capital and compute, and governance. Every statement opens its source and its limits.

Records dated 2023-07-21 to 2026-04-20 · 3 undated

15 claims · 11 sources · 15 not editorially accepted. The counts describe this selection. They do not measure completeness or independent confirmation.

Scope, evidence and limits

Description: The investor named in Anthropic’s September 2023 announcement of a commitment of up to $4 billion.

The records are grouped automatically. No human inspection of the selected claims, source paths or framing is recorded for this dossier. Each source passage shows how it was checked.

The dossier is computed from existing records. It is not a continuous history of the institution, and a missing record does not mean that an event or relationship did not happen. The chronology uses the dates of events and reports, not the date the public could first have known of them. Later sources can describe earlier events.

Select any statement to see its exact claim, qualification, date note, evidence passage, location in the source, source version and review status. The description above is Selekoa’s stored description of the institution, based on these sources:

Connected institutional dossiers

Institutions linked by a documented relationship. Each keeps its own chronology and evidence. When units combine, their earlier records stay separate.

  • Open Amazon AGI SF Lab dossier →

Chronology

Records about the institution itself and documented changes to its frameworks, by year. Expand a year to read the claims. People’s other institutional records and related documents have their own sections. Where a date gives only the year or month, the order within it is unknown.

2023Record year · 3 claims
  1. 2023-07-21 · publicationgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The fact sheet links the July 2023 commitments text. Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded.

    Date of the White House fact sheet (day precision), also matched in the Internet Archive capture of that day. The company’s own date of signing is not recorded.

  2. 2023-09 · eventcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: invested · exact USD 1,250,000,000 · transaction

    Qualification and date notes

    Retrospective report of an investment made; not the whole September upper-bound commitment. Instrument and exact day are not specified here.

    Investment month stated retrospectively in March 2024; day and disbursement details not inferred.

  3. 2023-09-25 · eventcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: announced · up to USD 4,000,000,000 · transaction

    Qualification and date notes

    An upper-bound announced commitment, not evidence that $4 billion had already been paid. Subsequent transactions are outside this record.

    The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.

2024Record year · 6 claims
  1. 2024-03-27 · announcementcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: invested · exact USD 2,750,000,000 · transaction

    Qualification and date notes

    The amount encodes this tranche, not another $4 billion in addition. Realised investment is company-reported; no payment-rail or ownership-percentage inference.

    Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.

  2. 2024-05-21 · publicationgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded.

    First publication of the GOV.UK text, on the opening day of the AI Seoul Summit; the Internet Archive capture of 2024-05-21 has the sixteen-name list.

  3. 2024-06-28 · eventinstitutions

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedRead through a reader relay

    Stated reason, as given by Adept (2024-06-28)

    Adept stated that continuing its initial plan of building both general intelligence and an enterprise agent product would have required significant attention on fundraising for its foundation models, and presented the strategy updates as a way to keep momentum on its agent technology. Attributed to Adept, in “An update from Adept”; not a finding about why it happened.

    Activity: announced

    Qualification and date notes

    Adept's own announcement; no Amazon announcement of the arrangement was retrieved. The post does not name which co-founders joined Amazon (it should not be read as including every person named as a co-founder in 2022), does not call the arrangement an acquisition and gives no terms.

    Date of Adept's announcement; joining and licence dates not stated.

  4. 2024-11-22 · announcementcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: announced · exact USD 4,000,000,000 · transaction

    Qualification and date notes

    Future cumulative total is not encoded as this transaction’s amount or proof of same-day closing.

    Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.

  5. 2024-12-09 · snapshotinstitutions

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Announcement by the lab's leads on Amazon Science; it does not establish the lab's later existence or size.

    Announcement date.

  6. 2024-12-09 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    A dated snapshot; it does not establish when Luan joined Amazon or whether he still holds the role.

    Role as shown on the post date; start date not stated.

2025Record year · 1 claims
  1. 2025-08-01 · publicationgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Listing is the Commission’s statement. It is not evidence of compliance, and the list does not say which chapters each organisation signed; the Commission’s questions and answers say that opting out of a chapter loses the benefit of facilitated demonstration of compliance for it (context below). The legal effect of signing is set aside.

    The list first appears in the Internet Archive capture of 2025-08-01 (13:04 UTC) and is absent from the capture of 2025-07-31; the organisation’s own signature date is not published and is not recorded.

2026Record year · 2 claims
  1. 2026-04-20 · announcementcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: announced · up to USD 20,000,000,000 · transaction

    Qualification and date notes

    Conditional future upper bound, not realised investment and not included in the separate $5 billion transaction.

    Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.

    Conditions: Certain commercial milestones; details not disclosed in this announcement.

  2. 2026-04-20 · announcementcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: announced · exact USD 5,000,000,000 · transaction

    Qualification and date notes

    The source uses future-tense investment language; same-day intention is not independently established closing or disbursement. Separate from the conditional additional amount.

    Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.