A guided reading · 9 main claims
What can the documentary record establish about Anthropic's formation and its preceding personnel and intellectual networks?
Open the guided reading →Selected by machine · no human review of the framing recordedInstitutional dossier
The documented history of Anthropic: chronology, people, research, capital and compute, and governance. Every statement opens its source and its limits.
Records dated 2014-12-22 to 2026-10-15 · 20 undated
194 claims · 101 sources · 194 not editorially accepted. The counts describe this selection. They do not measure completeness or independent confirmation.
Scope, evidence and limits
Description: An AI company whose early fundraising, cloud partnership and first Responsible Scaling Policy appear in this sample.
The records are grouped automatically. No human inspection of the selected claims, source paths or framing is recorded for this dossier. Each source passage shows how it was checked.
The dossier is computed from existing records. It is not a continuous history of the institution, and a missing record does not mean that an event or relationship did not happen. The chronology uses the dates of events and reports, not the date the public could first have known of them. Later sources can describe earlier events.
Select any statement to see its exact claim, qualification, date note, evidence passage, location in the source, source version and review status. The description above is Selekoa’s stored description of the institution, based on these sources:
Chronology
Records about the institution itself and documented changes to its frameworks, by year. Expand a year to read the claims. People’s other institutional records and related documents have their own sections. Where a date gives only the year or month, the order within it is unknown.
2021Record year · 10 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Institutional co-founder attribution, not a claim to an exhaustive founding roster or a present executive title.
The same slide dates the organisation’s founding to 2021. No individual signing date or legal incorporation date is supplied.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Co-founding is distinct from the separately recorded executive role and does not identify a legal incorporation date.
The source states founding at the beginning of 2021; no exact day or month is encoded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Co-founding is distinct from the separately recorded executive role and does not identify a legal incorporation date.
The source states founding at the beginning of 2021; no exact day or month is encoded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Institutional co-founder attribution, not a claim to an exhaustive founding roster or a present executive title.
The same slide dates the organisation’s founding to 2021. No individual signing date or legal incorporation date is supplied.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The company's own statement of its founding period. It is not the date of legal incorporation: the certificate of incorporation recorded separately was filed on 26 January 2021. The slide gives the year only.
Year precision; the source says “the beginning of 2021” without a month. The 2024 founder slide gives the year 2021.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Institutional co-founder attribution, not a claim to an exhaustive founding roster or a present executive title.
The same slide dates the organisation’s founding to 2021. No individual signing date or legal incorporation date is supplied.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Read from a Delaware-stamped copy published by AI Lab Watch, which says it obtained the filings from the State of Delaware; authenticity rests on the filing stamp and the consistent recitals of later certificates. Legal form describes the entity, not how it is governed in practice. The public-benefit wording changed in the restated certificate of May 2021; the later wording is recorded with the certificate of July 2025.
Filing date and time from the stamp on page 1 of the certificate.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
What the filed text says; whether the committee had members or used the power is not recorded. Directors were elected solely by stockholders who were parties to a Voting Agreement (Article VIII(C)), which was not inspected. Anthropic later described the committee as an earlier version of the Long-Term Benefit Trust written into its 2021 Series A investment documents (context below). Recorded as a veto over director candidates; it is not a right to elect directors.
Filing date of the restated certificate.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This is a historical role snapshot. Neither the appointment date nor the end of the role is established by this record.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This is a historical role snapshot. Neither the appointment date nor the end of the role is established by this record.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
2022Record year · 1 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Activity: reported performed · System: A snapshot of Claude fine-tuned with Anthropic engineers; exact snapshot unspecified
Qualification and date notes
Anthropic’s account of work performed, not independent verification or certification. The evaluated snapshot is not identified as deployed Claude 2. Source actor is ARC, not silently ARC Evals or METR. Exact start date and completion are unknown; this does not assert a current engagement.
The source says since fall 2022; the year is the available schema precision, not January 1. The end is unknown; continuing work is described at report time only.
2023Record year · 10 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: announced
Qualification and date notes
Google Cloud is represented through Google. The announcement does not establish exclusivity or payment.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A documented board role at the date of the announcement. Later Anthropic lists of directors (29 May 2024, 13 February 2026, and the Company page retrieved on 2026-10-15) still name her; no continuous tenure is established beyond those documents. The terms under which she was elected are not stated.
Date of the announcement; no start date is given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The fact sheet links the July 2023 commitments text. Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded. Anthropic’s Responsible Scaling Policy of September 2023 refers to the commitments as ones it made in July and continues to maintain (context below).
Date of the White House fact sheet (day precision), also matched in the Internet Archive capture of that day. The company’s own date of signing is not recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: invested · exact USD 1,250,000,000 · transaction
Qualification and date notes
Retrospective report of an investment made; not the whole September upper-bound commitment. Instrument and exact day are not specified here.
Investment month stated retrospectively in March 2024; day and disbursement details not inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The Trust’s holding of the Class T stock rests on Anthropic’s statements; no share register was inspected. An election right is not ownership, and whether the Trust controls Anthropic needs legal interpretation and is set aside. The latest inspected certificate (filed 2025-07-03) keeps the same allocation of a five-member board.
The First Phase-In Date in the certificates. The later phase dates depend on board determinations that were not published (see the phase-in provisions); no end is recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication is not proof of implementation or effectiveness. Later revisions are distinct documents and are not represented by this node.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own words, recorded as naming the commitments: it describes overlap, not fulfilment. It is not evidence that the commitments are met.
The edition’s effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Anthropic’s description of its own arrangement. The Trust Agreement it refers to is not public and was not inspected. The live page adds a note on later membership changes; roles are recorded individually only for people already in the dataset. Whether stockholders can change or end the Trust, and whether the Trust controls Anthropic, need legal interpretation and are set aside.
Date shown on the post (day precision), also in the Internet Archive capture of 2023-09-25.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: announced · up to USD 4,000,000,000 · transaction
Qualification and date notes
An upper-bound announced commitment, not evidence that $4 billion had already been paid. Subsequent transactions are outside this record.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: announced
Qualification and date notes
Primary does not mean exclusive. The announcement concerns future provision and identifies other existing solutions; no expenditure is stated.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
2024Record year · 26 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Self-reported start year; mutable current wording is not extrapolated into continuing employment.
The page says 2024–Current; retain the stated start year and no end boundary. An omitted end is unknown, not a live employment assertion.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: invested · exact USD 2,750,000,000 · transaction
Qualification and date notes
The amount encodes this tranche, not another $4 billion in addition. Realised investment is company-reported; no payment-rail or ownership-percentage inference.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Anthropic's January 2026 Labs announcement describes him as having spent the past two years as Chief Product Officer and as joining Labs; no exact end date of the CPO role is stated.
Date of the announcement, which says he has joined; the start date is not given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded.
First publication of the GOV.UK text, on the opening day of the AI Seoul Summit; the Internet Archive capture of 2024-05-21 has the sixteen-name list.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A documented role at the announcement date; continuous tenure is not established.
Date of the announcement, which says he has joined; the start date is not given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedX syndication text
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
A first-person announcement; it gives no title, team name or start date. The existing undated record from his biography names the team as Alignment Science.
Date of the post (16:50 UTC); not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A documented board role at the date of the announcement. Anthropic’s list of directors of 14 April 2026 still names him. The board list on Anthropic’s Company page as retrieved on 15 October 2026 does not include him; no statement of a departure was found, and none is inferred.
Date of the announcement. No end is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stated reason, as given by Anthropic (2024-05-29)
Anthropic's announcement states that he stepped down to focus on his work at Open Philanthropy. Attributed to Anthropic, in “Jay Kreps appointed to Anthropic's Board of Directors”; not a finding about why it happened.
Qualification and date notes
The announcement does not say when he joined the board or how he was elected; neither is recorded. The stated reason is Anthropic's wording in its own announcement.
Date of the announcement; the effective date of the departure is not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: invested
Qualification and date notes
Amount and percentage are redacted. The decision uses Google as shorthand for Alphabet’s group; a specific subscribing legal entity, voting control and later holdings are not inferred.
August 2024 holding snapshot; decision issued November 19 and full text published December 24.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedRests on reportingX syndication text
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting: the X syndication text of Schulman's note is truncated before the sentence naming Anthropic, which is attested here only through TechCrunch's quotation of the note. No title or start date is stated. His departure from OpenAI is recorded separately; his later departure is recorded separately.
Post timestamp 2024-08-06 00:00 UTC, which is 5 August in US Pacific time; TechCrunch's report is dated 5 August. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: contracted
Qualification and date notes
Non-exclusivity coexists with AWS primary-provider status. It does not establish easy switching, provider shares or absence of dependence. The CMA decision did not decide material influence.
Dated description of contractual terms, not an inferred signing date or current arrangement.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own statement, quoted from it. “Helps satisfy” is recorded as a claim of fulfilment in part; it is not evidence that the commitments are met. The same sentence also names the White House commitments. RSP v3.0 and later editions contain no such sentence; that absence is not recorded as a claim.
The edition’s stated effective date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own statement, quoted from it. “Helps satisfy” is recorded as a claim of fulfilment in part; it is not evidence that the commitments are met. The same sentence also names the Frontier AI Safety Commitments. RSP v3.0 and later editions contain no such sentence; that absence is not recorded as a claim.
The edition’s stated effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Historical corporate title snapshot; no start/end or ongoing appointment inferred.
Role snapshot at the dated source; no start, end or continuing appointment inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Prospective assignment as announced; not proof of implementation, safety outcomes or exact effective date.
Snapshot of announced responsibility, not a documented effective appointment day.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Historical role snapshot; do not extrapolate it beyond later title changes.
Role snapshot at the dated source; no start, end or continuing appointment inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Question posed by Selekoa · Unresolved
Qualification and date notes
Unresolved open question, not a finding. SaferAI characterises the revision as replacing precise thresholds and mitigation specifications with qualitative descriptions; Anthropic describes greater flexibility and retained core safeguards. These passages do not establish opposing assessments of verifiability. SaferAI judges that the change reduces transparency and accountability and asks stakeholders to trust Anthropic rather than providing verifiable commitments and metrics, and it lowered Anthropic’s rating from 2.2 to 1.9; the record holds this criticism but no direct opposing assessment of verifiability, so every passage is context. The textual changes are recorded separately, and the record does not decide the question.
v2.0’s effective date; the assessments were published afterwards (SaferAI on 2024-10-23).
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This is a scoped change in the policy text. It does not establish implementation, compliance, risk reduction or a comparative safety ranking.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: contracted
Qualification and date notes
Public monetary commitments and duration are redacted. This is compute provision, separate from model distribution on Vertex AI and capital financing.
Terms described at the decision date; exact signing date is not supplied.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: contracted
Qualification and date notes
The public decision redacts amounts and duration; no minimum spend, realised payment or investment-funded procurement is inferred. Separate from Google financing and model distribution.
Dated description of contractual terms, not an inferred signing date or current arrangement.
Conditions: Amounts and duration redacted in the public decision.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: completed
Qualification and date notes
Amounts and transaction dates are redacted. Conversion to non-voting shares was conditional, not established. Google denotes the group-level counterparty, not a resolved legal investment vehicle.
Arrangement described in the November 19 decision; no exact loan closing or disbursement date inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: announced · exact USD 4,000,000,000 · transaction
Qualification and date notes
Future cumulative total is not encoded as this transaction’s amount or proof of same-day closing.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: announced
Qualification and date notes
Primary does not mean exclusive. This adds training scope to the historical 2023 mission-critical cloud record.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: planned
Qualification and date notes
A hardware-specific training plan, distinct from investment and primary-provider status. No procurement, chip count or completed training run inferred.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
2025Record year · 24 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting: TechCrunch relays other outlets' reports and a statement to Bloomberg by Anthropic's chief science officer, Jared Kaplan, which was not inspected at source. No post by Schulman or Anthropic announcement was located. Schulman's later role at Thinking Machines is recorded in existing records.
Month of the reports; TechCrunch's report is dated 2025-02-06. The departure date and the date of Anthropic's statement are not established.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The post itself is undated; the month rests on the blog index. The record does not establish when Sharma began to lead the team.
Month under which Anthropic's Alignment Science Blog index lists the undated post. Not a start date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own statement, quoted from it. “Helps satisfy” is recorded as a claim of fulfilment in part; it is not evidence that the commitments are met. The same sentence also names the White House commitments. RSP v3.0 and later editions contain no such sentence; that absence is not recorded as a claim.
The edition’s stated effective date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own statement, quoted from it. “Helps satisfy” is recorded as a claim of fulfilment in part; it is not evidence that the commitments are met. The same sentence also names the Frontier AI Safety Commitments. RSP v3.0 and later editions contain no such sentence; that absence is not recorded as a claim.
The edition’s stated effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This is a scoped change in the policy text. It does not establish implementation, compliance, risk reduction or a comparative safety ranking.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own statement, quoted from it. “Helps satisfy” is recorded as a claim of fulfilment in part; it is not evidence that the commitments are met. The same sentence also names the White House commitments. RSP v3.0 and later editions contain no such sentence; that absence is not recorded as a claim.
The edition’s stated effective date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own statement, quoted from it. “Helps satisfy” is recorded as a claim of fulfilment in part; it is not evidence that the commitments are met. The same sentence also names the Frontier AI Safety Commitments. RSP v3.0 and later editions contain no such sentence; that absence is not recorded as a claim.
The edition’s stated effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This concerns the ASL-3 threat-model scope. It does not establish what protections Anthropic actually deployed or an overall safety change.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A documented board role at the date of the announcement; later changes are not recorded.
Date of the announcement. No end is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Read from Delaware-stamped copies published by AI Lab Watch. The certificates filed between 2021 and 2025 were inspected only for the provisions cited in other records, and any certificate filed after 3 July 2025 was not inspected.
Filing date from the stamp on page 1 of the certificate.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A consent right recorded as a veto; the Trust’s holding of the Class T stock rests on Anthropic’s statements. The certificate also sets stockholder thresholds for amending the Class T provisions; whether stockholders can change or end the Trust without the Trustees is set aside as a question of legal interpretation.
Filing date of the latest inspected certificate.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
What the filed text says, applied to the Class T Directors it defines; the Trust’s holding rests on Anthropic’s statements. Removal for cause “as provided by law” is a separate route that is not interpreted here.
Filing date of the latest inspected certificate; the same provision is in the certificate filed on 31 March 2023.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced appointment; the start date is not stated. The role as listed later is recorded separately.
Announcement date; the start is stated only as later in 2025.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
An announced intention; the company’s entry on the Commission’s list of signatories is a separate record.
Date of Anthropic’s post (day precision).
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Listing is the Commission’s statement. It is not evidence of compliance, and the list does not say which chapters each organisation signed; the Commission’s questions and answers say that opting out of a chapter loses the benefit of facilitated demonstration of compliance for it (context below). The legal effect of signing is set aside.
The list first appears in the Internet Archive capture of 2025-08-01 (13:04 UTC) and is absent from the capture of 2025-07-31; the organisation’s own signature date is not published and is not recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A documented role at the announcement date; continuous tenure is not established. The same announcement records Sam McCandlish’s move from CTO to Chief Architect (existing record).
Date of the announcement, which says he has joined; the start date is not given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This source documents a changed title, not an exact effective date or departure from the company.
Role snapshot at the dated source; no start, end or continuing appointment inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: planned · up to 1,000,000 TPUs · Capacity expected to come online in 2026.
Qualification and date notes
Upper-bound plan, not a deployed chip count. The source’s tens of billions of dollars and well over one gigawatt remain qualitative; no exact spend or capacity is invented.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: deployed
Qualification and date notes
Company-reported deployed workload infrastructure; not independent performance validation or Anthropic ownership. The cited passage states the cluster’s launch and purpose; it does not state Anthropic’s use at this date. Amazon’s 2026-04-20 page states active use (later snapshot).
State reported at this date; no exact start, completion date or current continuity inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
An announcement by Anthropic about its own document; the framework’s own text, version and dates were not inspected in this pass, so no record links the framework itself to SB 53. The stated purpose is forward-looking (“will serve”). It is not evidence that the framework satisfies the statute or that Anthropic is a large frontier developer under it. Anthropic makes this statement in its announcement, not in the FCF itself, which was not retrieved. A designation is not evidence that the FCF satisfies § 22757.12 or that Anthropic complies. The same post says Anthropic endorsed SB 53 (its stated position, not recorded here). For the RSP side of the split, see the record of RSP v3.0’s reference to SB 53.
Date printed on Anthropic's announcement (day precision). The earliest Internet Archive capture located is dated 2025-12-28.
2026Record year · 42 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
The announcement gives no title for his Labs role and does not state when his CPO role ended. Ben Mann's own role in Labs is not recorded from this sentence.
Announcement date; not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
The announcement gives no title; her title on the Leadership page retrieved later is recorded separately. Her role at Anthropic between joining and this announcement is not stated.
Announcement date; not a start date. The joining date is stated only as the end of 2025.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text
Qualification and date notes
A first-person post. The letter he attached is an image and was not machine-checked; no reason is recorded. The post names no role; the role is from Anthropic's February 2025 post, and the record does not establish that he still held it on his last day.
Date of the post (UTC), which the post gives as his last day.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The announcement does not say whether he was elected by stockholders or by the Long-Term Benefit Trust. The Company page retrieved on 2026-10-15 lists him as a director.
Date of the announcement. No end is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The cover effective date and release announcement publication date both identify February 24, 2026.
Record about this institution’s framework · Question posed by Selekoa · Unresolved
Qualification and date notes
Unresolved open question, not a finding; it keeps the strength of the commitments apart from their expected effectiveness. Both sides accept the main changes: v3.0 drops the implied unilateral commitment to pause development and deployment when required safeguards cannot be met, separates recommendations for the industry from what Anthropic commits to as a company, adds transparency commitments, and introduces roadmap goals that are public goals rather than hard commitments. TIME’s report judges that overall the change leaves Anthropic far less constrained by its own safety policies. Sophie Williams and Jonas Freund, writing on GovAI’s site in a post that represents their own views, judge that it weakened future security commitments, note that existing mitigations are not lowered and conclude on balance that honesty about constraints is better than commitments that would not be followed; their article was updated on 2026-03-17 on competitor-matching commitments, and the quoted passages are unchanged. Anthropic describes the revision as amplifying what worked and committing it to more transparency. Holden Karnofsky, who led the revision and writes in his own name, expects more specific and realistic goals to improve their forcing function despite weaker consequences for missing them, and leaves the net effect uncertain. Jared Kaplan, Anthropic’s chief science officer, told TIME that unilateral commitments made no sense while competitors pressed ahead, and denied that the change was a U-turn or a capitulation to market incentives. METR’s Chris Painter, who reviewed an early draft with Anthropic’s permission, called the change understandable but was concerned it might enable a gradual “frog-boiling” effect. None of these passages settles whether the new mechanisms compensate, so all are context. The textual changes are recorded separately, and the record does not decide the question.
v3.0’s effective date; the assessments were published on and after that date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The source distinguishes plans pursued regardless of others from recommendations intended for collective adoption. This is a policy-structure change, not a conclusion that Anthropic became safer or less safe.
The cover effective date and release announcement publication date both identify February 24, 2026.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records the new reporting provision, not evidence that a particular report was published or independently validated.
The cover effective date and release announcement publication date both identify February 24, 2026.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Roadmaps articulate planned safety goals. These goals are distinguished in the policy from hard commitments; the claim does not say they were achieved.
The cover effective date and release announcement publication date both identify February 24, 2026.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own statement about SB 53, quoted from it. It is not evidence that the edition satisfies the statute, that its publisher is a frontier developer under it, or of implementation or compliance. This is an explicit link that separates the RSP from Anthropic's SB 53 compliance documents. The footnote does not name the Frontier Compliance Framework or any other specific document. Paraphrase of the Introduction's body: the RSP may serve some regulatory requirements but is not designed to be comprehensive, and regulatory requirements that exceed or differ from it will be addressed through separate documents. On 2026-10-04 a whitespace-normalised text search of the live PDFs found the same footnote sentence once each in v3.1, v3.2, v3.3 and v3.4. This record covers v3.0 only; no per-edition records are created here. The record makes no claim about whether any compliance document satisfies SB 53.
Effective date printed on the cover of RSP v3.0 ('Effective February 24, 2026'). The dataset also uses it as the publication date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The cover effective date and release announcement publication date both identify February 24, 2026.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced role; the start date is not stated. His leadership of The Anthropic Institute is recorded separately; his prior Anthropic title is not recorded here.
Announcement date; not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A role stated in the launch announcement; it gives no title for the Institute role and does not establish a continuing role.
Date of the announcement launching the Institute; not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced role; no start date or continuing role is established.
Announcement date; not a start date. Her joining date is not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: contracted · Capacity expected online starting in 2027.
Qualification and date notes
One joint agreement with Google and Broadcom, represented by two counterparty edges; do not add their capacities. Responsibility split, exact quantity, spend and ownership are not disclosed.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Conditions: Joint Google–Broadcom agreement; each edge records a named counterparty, not a separate capacity allocation.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: contracted · Capacity expected online starting in 2027.
Qualification and date notes
One joint agreement with Google and Broadcom, represented by two counterparty edges; do not add their capacities. Responsibility split, exact quantity, spend and ownership are not disclosed.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Conditions: Joint Google–Broadcom agreement; each edge records a named counterparty, not a separate capacity allocation.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A documented board role and Anthropic’s own statement about the board’s composition. The post names six other directors (Dario Amodei, Daniela Amodei, Yasmin Razavi, Jay Kreps, Reed Hastings and Chris Liddell), more than the five-member board fixed by the latest inspected certificate; a later certificate was not inspected.
Date of the announcement. No end is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: announced · up to USD 20,000,000,000 · transaction
Qualification and date notes
Conditional future upper bound, not realised investment and not included in the separate $5 billion transaction.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Conditions: Certain commercial milestones; details not disclosed in this announcement.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: announced · exact USD 5,000,000,000 · transaction
Qualification and date notes
The source uses future-tense investment language; same-day intention is not independently established closing or disbursement. Separate from the conditional additional amount.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: committed · more than USD 100,000,000,000 · transaction · up to 5 GW of Trainium capacity · Next ten years from April 2026; significant Trainium3 capacity expected in 2026.
Qualification and date notes
A customer commitment, not investment in AWS, completed expenditure or installed capacity. Strict monetary lower bound and capacity upper bound apply to the same announced arrangement.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This is a scoped change in the policy text. It does not establish implementation, compliance, risk reduction or a comparative safety ranking.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Report coverage and publication dates are distinct. This claim does not say every report uses the maximum lag.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This is a change to the written internal-distribution requirement, not evidence of the actual recipients or a claim that all staff lose access.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced appointment (“will join”); the start date is not stated. The role as listed later is recorded separately.
Announcement date; not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Shows the listing on the retrieval date only; when he took the title is not established.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Shows the listing on the retrieval date only; no start date or continuing role is established.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
When she became chair is not established. Her role as President is recorded in existing records.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A dated snapshot only; continuous tenure since the 2021 record is not established by these two documents.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Shows the listing on the retrieval date only; no start date is established.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Shows the listing on the retrieval date only; no start date is established.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Shows the listing on the retrieval date only; when he took the role is not established.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Shows the listing on the retrieval date only; no start date is established.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Shows the listing on the retrieval date only; the start date is not established.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Shows the listing on the retrieval date only; when she took the title is not established.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Date unknownRecord year · 8 claims
Record about this institution · Question posed by Selekoa · Unresolved
Qualification and date notes
The unresolved question is whether the Trust can exercise effective public-interest oversight when stockholder preferences conflict with that oversight. Anthropic describes financially disinterested Trustees, an intended independent design and a checking role; its Transparency Hub says the Trust’s authority to elect directors helps insulate the mission from short-term commercial and shareholder pressures, and its April 2026 announcement says Trust-appointed directors then formed a board majority. Appointment power is distinct from independence against removal. Stein-Perlman’s 2024 analysis tentatively identifies possible stockholder subordination under incompletely disclosed failsafe terms. Fried and Reiter describe partial investor insulation and favour constraints on guardian overreach; they do not simply deny an effective checking role. Outside counsel describe the arrangement’s accountability and amendment mechanisms. Source dates and subsequent phase-in must be distinguished. The inspected public descriptions do not settle practical effectiveness; no side or legal conclusion is adopted.
The question is not tied to one date: it concerns the Trust under the rights recorded on this page, which phase in from 6 September 2023. The cited passages were published from 19 September 2023 to 23 July 2026 (the Transparency Hub version last updated that day); those are source dates, not the period of the question.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication is not independent confirmation of the model card’s findings.
The content identifies a July 2023 model release; that does not establish the publication date of the inspected expression.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Founding participation is explicit; no date or legal founder status is supplied by this passage.
Retrospective co-founder attribution; this source does not specify the founding event date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Undated mutable self-description; no exact appointment date or independently verified current employment.
Source does not establish defensible role boundaries; retrieval date is not an employment date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A company-produced credit under the slide heading “Founded by top AI experts”, listing eight people as CEO, President, CSO, CTO or co-founder. Anthropic's Leadership page retrieved on 2026-10-15 does not list him among its co-founders; it is a page of current leaders, and no statement withdrawing the credit was found. The roster on either page is not established as complete.
A retrospective credit on a 2024 slide; it gives no founding date for him. The organisation’s stated founding year is recorded separately.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Approximate duration does not establish a precise appointment date or departure from Anthropic.
The phrase over the last year is retrospective and approximate; no exact interval is manufactured.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Founding participation is explicit; no date or legal founder status is supplied by this passage.
Retrospective co-founder attribution; this source does not specify the founding event date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The page does not date that period. No continuous tenure, exact arrival/departure or current Anthropic role inferred.
Source does not establish defensible role boundaries; retrieval date is not an employment date.