Institutional dossier
The documented history of Google: chronology, people, research, capital and compute, and governance. Every statement opens its source and its limits.
Records dated 2010 to 2026-10-15 · 18 undated
66 claims · 42 sources · 66 not editorially accepted. The counts describe this selection. They do not measure completeness or independent confirmation.
Scope, evidence and limits
Description: The acquirer of DeepMind in the 2014 founder-authored account and organisation announcing the 2023 research-unit combination.
The records are grouped automatically. No human inspection of the selected claims, source paths or framing is recorded for this dossier. Each source passage shows how it was checked.
The dossier is computed from existing records. It is not a continuous history of the institution, and a missing record does not mean that an event or relationship did not happen. The chronology uses the dates of events and reports, not the date the public could first have known of them. Later sources can describe earlier events.
Select any statement to see its exact claim, qualification, date note, evidence passage, location in the source, source version and review status. The description above is Selekoa’s stored description of the institution, based on these sources:
Connected institutional dossiers
Institutions linked by a documented relationship. Each keeps its own chronology and evidence. When units combine, their earlier records stay separate.
Chronology
Records about the institution itself and documented changes to its frameworks, by year. Expand a year to read the claims. People’s other institutional records and related documents have their own sections. Where a date gives only the year or month, the order within it is unknown.
2012Record year · 1 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The post presents the experiments as Google’s research and names Quoc Le as their lead; it does not use the name Google Brain, gives no titles for its research team and does not state Quoc Le’s position or employment status. The role is recorded as the post words it (leading the reported experiments), not as a title. The bylines shown on the page come from the blog’s author records and give Jeff Dean a later title, so they are not used here.
Publication date of the post. Not a start date.
2014Record year · 1 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
No purchase price, legal-entity identifier, or 2023 combination is implied.
Source says early 2014; month and completion day remain unspecified.
2015Record year · 1 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The byline establishes a Google Inc. affiliation only; no particular internal research unit or employment interval is asserted.
Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.
2019Record year · 1 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedX syndication text
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
A prospective move stated in his own post; it gives no title.
Announcement date; the post says he would start in January (2020).
2022Record year · 1 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Announced by the joining firm, not by Google; the record does not establish a last working day.
Greylock's announcement date; not a last working day at Google.
2023Record year · 4 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: announced
Qualification and date notes
Google Cloud is represented through Google. The announcement does not establish exclusivity or payment.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Announcement snapshot; no appointment completion day or employment interval is supplied.
Snapshot at the dated source announcement; no employment interval or current appointment is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The fact sheet links the July 2023 commitments text. Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded.
Date of the White House fact sheet (day precision), also matched in the Internet Archive capture of that day. The company’s own date of signing is not recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: deployed · exact 4,096 TPUv4 chips per SuperPod (not fleet total)
Qualification and date notes
4,096 is the per-SuperPod configuration, not the fleet total or number actively training. Standby cubes were retained. Internal hardware use does not establish an external commercial transaction.
State reported at this date; no exact start, completion date or current continuity inferred.
2024Record year · 6 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded. The UK government’s press release of the same day lists “Google / Google DeepMind”; which legal entity agreed is not documented, and the record uses the Google identity as the GOV.UK text does.
First publication of the GOV.UK text, on the opening day of the AI Seoul Summit; the Internet Archive capture of 2024-05-21 has the sixteen-name list.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: invested
Qualification and date notes
Amount and percentage are redacted. The decision uses Google as shorthand for Alphabet’s group; a specific subscribing legal entity, voting control and later holdings are not inferred.
August 2024 holding snapshot; decision issued November 19 and full text published December 24.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedRests on reporting
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting: TechCrunch relays Character.AI’s blog post and statements by Google and Shazeer; Character.AI’s own post could not be retrieved (404). Shazeer’s statement quoted by TechCrunch calls it the non-exclusive Google licensing agreement (context evidence). TechCrunch groups the deal with other “reverse acqui-hires”; it does not report an acquisition of Character.AI. Terms and payments are not recorded here.
Date of the report of the announced agreement; signing and effective dates not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: contracted
Qualification and date notes
Public monetary commitments and duration are redacted. This is compute provision, separate from model distribution on Vertex AI and capital financing.
Terms described at the decision date; exact signing date is not supplied.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: contracted
Qualification and date notes
The public decision redacts amounts and duration; no minimum spend, realised payment or investment-funded procurement is inferred. Separate from Google financing and model distribution.
Dated description of contractual terms, not an inferred signing date or current arrangement.
Conditions: Amounts and duration redacted in the public decision.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: completed
Qualification and date notes
Amounts and transaction dates are redacted. Conversion to non-voting shares was conditional, not established. Google denotes the group-level counterparty, not a resolved legal investment vehicle.
Arrangement described in the November 19 decision; no exact loan closing or disbursement date inferred.
2025Record year · 5 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedRead through a reader relay
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
Windsurf’s own post states the agreement and the hires but not the licence. The licence and Google’s lack of control or stake rest on The Verge’s reporting of the Google–Windsurf announcement; the Google spokesperson statement quoted there does not mention the licence. No Google primary statement was retrieved. Terms and payments are not recorded here.
Announcement date; signing and effective dates not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
An announced intention; the company’s entry on the Commission’s list of signatories is a separate record. The post also voices concerns about the Code, which are not recorded.
Date of the post (day precision).
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Listing is the Commission’s statement. It is not evidence of compliance, and the list does not say which chapters each organisation signed; the Commission’s questions and answers say that opting out of a chapter loses the benefit of facilitated demonstration of compliance for it (context below). The legal effect of signing is set aside.
The list first appears in the Internet Archive capture of 2025-08-01 (13:04 UTC) and is absent from the capture of 2025-07-31; the organisation’s own signature date is not published and is not recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: planned · up to 1,000,000 TPUs · Capacity expected to come online in 2026.
Qualification and date notes
Upper-bound plan, not a deployed chip count. The source’s tens of billions of dollars and well over one gigawatt remain qualitative; no exact spend or capacity is invented.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A dated byline; no Google primary text announcing the appointment was retrieved.
Byline date; the appointment date (reported as June 2025) is not recorded here.
2026Record year · 3 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: contracted · Capacity expected online starting in 2027.
Qualification and date notes
One joint agreement with Google and Broadcom, represented by two counterparty edges; do not add their capacities. Responsibility split, exact quantity, spend and ownership are not disclosed.
Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.
Conditions: Joint Google–Broadcom agreement; each edge records a named counterparty, not a separate capacity allocation.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text
Qualification and date notes
The post does not name his Google role.
Post time 2026-06-18 00:15 UTC; not a last working day.
Record about this institution · Inferred · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The note does not name the role Dean left, his last day or whether any Google affiliation continues; the existing records give his 2023 Chief Scientist roles. A motive given in the note on his behalf is not recorded.
Announcement date; not a last working day.
Date unknownRecord year · 7 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A biography on 01.AI’s page, not a Google record; no tenure is established. English rendering of the Chinese passage is a machine translation; no human translation review.
No dates are given on the page.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
First-person retrospective; it gives no formal title or dates, and no Google source was retrieved. The post’s date is not a date of the role.
Retrospective self-account (2022-04-26); the dates of the role are not stated and stay unknown.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Biographical statement in Character.AI's announcement; no Google source was retrieved.
Described on 2024-12-05 as her most recent role before Character.AI; dates not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The profile does not use the name Google Brain; identifying the project with Google Brain is not made here. It does not establish dates.
Undated profile; no years are given for the role.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A third-party description of a former role; it does not date the role.
Former role described on 2022-01-20; start and end dates not given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Apple’s account of his prior role, not a Google record. It does not date his Google tenure or the Gemini role, or establish which Google unit he belonged to.
Retrospective statement; the 16 years are not dated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A company biography of its own co-founder; it does not establish dates or the Google unit.
Undated biography; no dates for the Google role are given.