Institutional dossier
The documented history of Google DeepMind: chronology, people, research, capital and compute, and governance. Every statement opens its source and its limits.
Records dated 2010 to 2026-10-15 · 9 undated
77 claims · 46 sources · 77 not editorially accepted. The counts describe this selection. They do not measure completeness or independent confirmation.
Scope, evidence and limits
Description: The research unit announced in 2023 through the combination of DeepMind and Google Research’s Brain team.
The records are grouped automatically. No human inspection of the selected claims, source paths or framing is recorded for this dossier. Each source passage shows how it was checked.
The dossier is computed from existing records. It is not a continuous history of the institution, and a missing record does not mean that an event or relationship did not happen. The chronology uses the dates of events and reports, not the date the public could first have known of them. Later sources can describe earlier events.
Select any statement to see its exact claim, qualification, date note, evidence passage, location in the source, source version and review status. The description above is Selekoa’s stored description of the institution, based on these sources:
Connected institutional dossiers
Institutions linked by a documented relationship. Each keeps its own chronology and evidence. When units combine, their earlier records stay separate.
- Open Google Brain dossier →
- Open DeepMind dossier →
- Open Google DeepMind Responsibility and Safety Council dossier →
- Open Model-building teams in Google Research dossier →
- Open Responsible AI teams in Google Research dossier →
- Open Gemini app team dossier →
- Open Google DeepMind AGI Safety Council dossier →
Chronology
Records about the institution itself and documented changes to its frameworks, by year. Expand a year to read the claims. People’s other institutional records and related documents have their own sections. Where a date gives only the year or month, the order within it is unknown.
2023Record year · 12 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting (background paragraph citing public information); no Google announcement was retrieved. Month of promotion and last working day are not established. English rendering of the Chinese passage is a machine translation; no human translation review.
Year of the promotion as reported; its month, the start of the role and its end are not established (Jiemian reports his move to ByteDance in February 2025).
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The source identifies a research team; this record does not treat Brain as a separate legal company.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This unit-level remit accompanies the Google-wide role; it does not imply a second legal employer or a CEO appointment.
Snapshot at the dated source announcement; no employment interval or current appointment is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
An organisational combination, not an inferred legal-entity merger or an acquisition transaction.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The source is Hassabis’s own message. This is an announcement snapshot, without an inferred end date.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced role; the record does not establish a start date or tenure.
Announcement date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced role without a title; the record does not establish a start date or later roles.
Announcement date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced structure; the record does not establish the board's composition or how long he led it.
Announcement date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Dated institutional account, not proof of independence, enforcement, or a precise founding date.
Source-dated snapshot; no start, end or continuing role is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Self-description, not an independent evaluation of governance effectiveness.
Date on the inspected publication; not the source-access date or proof of implementation.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The account identifies a collaborative effort across Google. Publication does not establish sole institutional authorship, independent capability verification or current deployment.
Dated institutional introduction; not the later December 19 first arXiv submission.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: operational
Qualification and date notes
Internal Google resource use in a cross-Google effort; not an external cloud purchase or sole-team attribution. No fleet count, rent or transfer price inferred.
State reported at this date; no exact start, completion date or current continuity inferred.
2024Record year · 9 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced consolidation; the note does not name the teams or record when the move was completed.
Announcement date; completion date not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced move; the note does not name the teams or their leads, and does not record completion.
Announcement date; completion date not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The announcement called it exploratory and targeted full implementation by early 2025. Introduction is not evidence that implementation was complete.
The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedRests on reporting
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting: TechCrunch relays a Google statement; no Google primary text was retrieved, and the statement gives no title. His departure from Character.AI is recorded separately.
Report date; not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A team's description of itself, co-written by Dragan. It gives an earlier dated snapshot of the role her undated homepage describes (recorded separately); it does not establish when she began to lead the organisation.
Date of the post. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A team's description of itself, posted on the AI Alignment Forum by three of its members, including Shah. Allan Dafoe and Dave Orr are not recorded separately. The record does not establish when Shah joined the leadership team.
Date of the post. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Snapshot only; no appointment date or role continuity from his earlier DeepMind affiliation is inferred.
Source-dated snapshot; no start, end or continuing role is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced move; the note names the team's lead only by first name (Sissie), and the record does not establish completion.
Announcement date; completion date not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A first-person statement of the role taken; it does not establish a continuing role.
Publication date of the post; the post describes it as his first week back.
2025Record year · 11 claims
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The source calls these recommendations and discusses collective adoption. This claim does not assert that every level was implemented.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled publication; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A company description of an internal body. It does not establish when the council was formed, its membership or whether its recommendations bind anyone.
Date of the post; the council's formation date is not given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text
Qualification and date notes
The post gives no title or start date. The Google–Windsurf agreement and his departure from Windsurf are recorded separately.
Post date (UTC); no start date or title given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text
Qualification and date notes
The post gives no title or start date. The Google–Windsurf agreement and his departure from Windsurf are recorded separately.
Post date (UTC); no start date or title given.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The claim concerns the September 2025 v3.0 section. The mutable page separately appends April 2026 v3.1 updates; those are not backdated.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled publication; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A dated byline; not a statement about the role's start or end.
Byline date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A dated byline; it does not establish when he took the role.
Byline date.
2026Record year · 8 claims
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This is a scoped change in the policy text. It does not establish implementation, compliance, risk reduction or a comparative safety ranking.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled publication; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the public policy version sequence, supported by the publisher’s update history. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation.
The sourced publication date does not establish an implementation or effective date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Stated reason, as given by Demis Hassabis (2026-08-05)
Hassabis wrote that he was handing over day-to-day operational responsibilities so that he would have time and space to focus on the big picture. Attributed to Demis Hassabis, in “The next chapter of our AI momentum”; not a finding about why it happened.
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced role. Google DeepMind's undated About page, retrieved 2026-10-15, still captioned Hassabis as Co-founder and CEO; the Keyword author page shows Chair.
Announcement date; not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
An announced appointment; the author page retrieved on 2026-10-15 shows the title, but neither source gives a start date.
Announcement date; not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Self-description on an undated page. A Google post of 2026-10-13 bylines her as VP, AI Safety & Behavior without naming the unit; that title is recorded as context only.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting
Qualification and date notes
A third-party institutional description; no Google primary source for the appointment or its date was retrieved.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated. Not a start date. The page lists the Academy’s new Fellows for 2026; no appointment date is given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Self-description on an undated page; an undated page can lag behind changes. It does not establish when he began to lead the team.
Role as shown on the page when retrieved on 15 October 2026; the page is undated.
Date unknownRecord year · 3 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Undated; the page uses the name Google DeepMind for a role that may predate the 2023 combination, so dates are left unknown.
Undated author page retrieved 2026-10-15; no years given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A first-person retrospective on an undated page. It does not establish when the role began or ended.
Retrospective first-person statement; no dates are given for the role.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on an investor’s retrospective description, which says “At DeepMind”. The record links the role to Google DeepMind, formed on 20 April 2023, because the source places it in post-training work for Gemini; the source itself does not name Google DeepMind or give dates, and the link is an editorial reading. No formal title is established.
Retrospective description; no dates are given for the role.