Records found and checked by machines, not reviewed by an editor · What this means →

Record explorer

Explore the documentary record

Every claim links to its source passage,
its dates where known and its limits.

Institutional dossier

Inflection AI

Built from the same claims and evidence as the map.

Institutional dossier

The documented history of Inflection AI: chronology, people, research, capital and compute, and governance. Every statement opens its source and its limits.

Records dated 2010 to 2026-07-21 · 1 undated

20 claims · 13 sources · 20 not editorially accepted. The counts describe this selection. They do not measure completeness or independent confirmation.

Scope, evidence and limits

Description: US AI company named by the White House among the seven companies of July 2023 and listed among the organisations agreeing to the Frontier AI Safety Commitments in May 2024.

The records are grouped automatically. No human inspection of the selected claims, source paths or framing is recorded for this dossier. Each source passage shows how it was checked.

The dossier is computed from existing records. It is not a continuous history of the institution, and a missing record does not mean that an event or relationship did not happen. The chronology uses the dates of events and reports, not the date the public could first have known of them. Later sources can describe earlier events.

Select any statement to see its exact claim, qualification, date note, evidence passage, location in the source, source version and review status. The description above is Selekoa’s stored description of the institution, based on these sources:

Chronology

Records about the institution itself and documented changes to its frameworks, by year. Expand a year to read the claims. People’s other institutional records and related documents have their own sections. Where a date gives only the year or month, the order within it is unknown.

2022Record year · 4 claims
  1. 2022-03-08 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The 2022 post names only 'Reid' (a Greylock general partner); the full name rests on Inflection's July 2026 press release, which names Reid Hoffman as Co-Founder. Neither source states an operating role at Inflection or an incorporation date.

    Date of the announcement of the co-founding; legal incorporation date not stated.

  2. 2022-03-08 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Announcement wording; it does not state when Simonyan began work at Inflection.

    Date of the announcement naming him co-founder.

  3. 2022-03-08 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced

    Activity: announced

    Qualification and date notes

    A prospective role in a launch announcement published on Greylock's blog; start date not stated.

    Announcement date; not a start date.

  4. 2022-03-08 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person announcement on Greylock's blog. It does not give an incorporation date or state Suleyman's executive title at Inflection.

    Date of the announcement of the co-founding; legal incorporation date not stated.

2023Record year · 2 claims
  1. 2023-03-08 · snapshotgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The company's own statement; no incorporation filing was retrieved, and the post does not name the state of incorporation.

    Date of the post; the date of the legal form change is not stated.

  2. 2023-07-21 · publicationgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The fact sheet links the July 2023 commitments text. Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded.

    Date of the White House fact sheet (day precision), also matched in the Internet Archive capture of that day. The company’s own date of signing is not recorded.

2024Record year · 5 claims
  1. 2024-03-19 · eventinstitutions

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The licensing element rests on the CMA's phase 1 summary decision; 4 September 2024 is its publication date on GOV.UK, and the summary text itself carries no date. Inflection's own March 2024 announcement could not be retrieved and Microsoft's announcement does not mention a licence. The CMA describes the hiring as having taken place and the arrangements as entered into, so the record carries no 'announced' stage; it does not give the dates of the licence or other arrangements. Under UK merger law the CMA treated the arrangements as the acquisition of certain assets of Inflection forming a relevant merger situation, and cleared it; that is a legal characterisation, not a statement that Microsoft acquired Inflection AI as a company. Terms and payments are not recorded here.

    Date on which, according to the CMA, Microsoft announced the hiring; the dates of the licence and other arrangements are not given in the summary.

  2. 2024-03-19 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Microsoft's description at the moment Simonyan was announced as joining Microsoft; the record does not establish when the Inflection role ended.

    Role as described on the date of Microsoft's announcement.

  3. 2024-05-20 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Announcement of a joining that had taken place by the post date; the record does not establish a start date or a continuing role.

    Date of the post; the start date is not stated.

  4. 2024-05-20 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person statement on Inflection's blog; it does not give the date of his appointment.

    Date of the post; the appointment date is not stated.

  5. 2024-05-21 · publicationgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded.

    First publication of the GOV.UK text, on the opening day of the AI Seoul Summit; the Internet Archive capture of 2024-05-21 has the sixteen-name list.

2026Record year · 1 claims
  1. 2026-07-21 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    A dated snapshot; it does not establish the role after the press release date.

    Date of the press release.