Institutional dossier
The documented history of Meta: chronology, people, research, capital and compute, and governance. Every statement opens its source and its limits.
Records dated 2013-12 to 2026-10-15 · 10 undated
60 claims · 40 sources · 60 not editorially accepted. The counts describe this selection. They do not measure completeness or independent confirmation.
Scope, evidence and limits
Description: Parent company named Meta in 2021. FAIR is represented separately as a research unit; broader Meta AI research and product work is not automatically assigned to FAIR.
The records are grouped automatically. No human inspection of the selected claims, source paths or framing is recorded for this dossier. Each source passage shows how it was checked.
The dossier is computed from existing records. It is not a continuous history of the institution, and a missing record does not mean that an event or relationship did not happen. The chronology uses the dates of events and reports, not the date the public could first have known of them. Later sources can describe earlier events.
Select any statement to see its exact claim, qualification, date note, evidence passage, location in the source, source version and review status. The description above is Selekoa’s stored description of the institution, based on these sources:
Connected institutional dossiers
Institutions linked by a documented relationship. Each keeps its own chronology and evidence. When units combine, their earlier records stay separate.
Chronology
Records about the institution itself and documented changes to its frameworks, by year. Expand a year to read the claims. People’s other institutional records and related documents have their own sections. Where a date gives only the year or month, the order within it is unknown.
2021Record year · 1 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced · name announcement
Qualification and date notes
The source explicitly says the corporate structure is not changing. This is a name announcement, not incorporation, merger or legal succession.
Announcement date, not an independently verified transaction completion date.
2022Record year · 3 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: operational · exact 6,080 GPUs
Qualification and date notes
Company-reported first-phase capacity, not the later expansion target or independent utilization measurement.
Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: planned · exact 16,000 GPUs
Qualification and date notes
A target announced in January 2022, not proof of completion within that year.
Announcement date, not an independently verified transaction completion date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Announcement of a governance arrangement, not an independently verified legal transfer. Meta also said it would continue investing in and using PyTorch.
Date of this source expression; not an invention or implementation date.
2023Record year · 13 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Institutional announcement date; the first arXiv submission is February 27. The announcement describes controlled noncommercial research access, not unrestricted commercial availability.
Date of this source expression; not an invention or implementation date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting (Bloomberg, via Fortune) that quotes Zuckerberg's Instagram post; the post itself was not retrieved. It establishes the announced creation, not the group's later name, size or structure.
Announcement date; the group's formal start date is not given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A paper affiliation (single shared affiliation line for all authors); it does not establish a title, start date or the date of leaving Meta.
arXiv v1 submission date; an affiliation snapshot, not an employment interval.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A paper affiliation; it does not establish a title, start date or the date of leaving Meta.
arXiv v1 submission date; an affiliation snapshot, not an employment interval.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Meta AI is the paper’s research affiliation; this does not establish a specific FAIR unit, exact legal employer or employment interval.
Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Stage: operational · exact 16,000 GPUs
Qualification and date notes
Company report of completed capacity in May 2023. It does not establish the precise installation date, spending or an independently measured performance ranking.
Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
An institutional research account linking a paper and released artifacts, not independent verification of claimed performance or human-like understanding.
Date of this source expression; not an invention or implementation date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A June 2023 role snapshot, not a current appointment or an inferred start date.
Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Company availability statement subject to the relevant licence terms; not a claim of unrestricted use, an external open-source certification or terms for later versions.
Date of this source expression; not an invention or implementation date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The fact sheet links the July 2023 commitments text. Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded.
Date of the White House fact sheet (day precision), also matched in the Internet Archive capture of that day. The company’s own date of signing is not recorded.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
FAIR is an internal research unit. The same article distinguishes broader Meta Generative AI and product teams; their work is not automatically FAIR work.
Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A retrospective institutional account, not independent confirmation of every claimed achievement or proof of priority.
Date of this source expression; not an invention or implementation date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A byline role snapshot; no exact appointment date or continuing role is inferred.
Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.
2024Record year · 4 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded. Meta’s Frontier AI Framework v1.1 states that Meta signed the commitments in May 2024.
First publication of the GOV.UK text, on the opening day of the AI Seoul Summit; the Internet Archive capture of 2024-05-21 has the sixteen-name list.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The essay states the company’s strategy. Its use of “open source” is not an independent finding that every model or licence meets an external definition.
Date of this source expression; not an invention or implementation date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Historical byline snapshot; no continuing appointment is inferred.
Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The Brazilian Portuguese edition of the post was retrieved; the English edition returned 404. The title is the Portuguese byline wording.
Snapshot at the post's publication date; no interval is inferred.
2025Record year · 8 claims
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The edition’s own words, recorded as a response to the commitments. It is not evidence that the commitments are met.
The edition’s publication date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. Publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice. A revised expression under the same Version 1.1 label followed by 2025-03-28 without a located announcement.
Date of Meta’s announcement, which links the framework.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reportingRead through a reader relay
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting: CNBC relays Pineau's LinkedIn post, which was not retrieved. It establishes the announcement, not the actual last working day.
Announcement date. The stated last day (30 May 2025) is a planned date, not independently confirmed.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Announced
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
Scale's announcement of a prospective move; it gives no Meta title. The title is recorded separately from Zuckerberg's 30 June memo.
Announcement date; not a start date.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reportingRead through a reader relay
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting: the memo text as published by CNBC; Meta's own copy was not retrieved.
Date of the memo as published by CNBC.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reportingRead through a reader relay
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting: the memo text as published by CNBC. It does not establish a start date or a continuing appointment.
Snapshot at the memo date; no interval is inferred.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A public statement that Meta would not sign; it is not a finding about Meta’s practices or legal obligations. The post’s reasons (legal uncertainty and measures it says go beyond the AI Act) are not recorded, and whether the Code goes beyond the Act is set aside.
Date of the LinkedIn post (page metadata) and of CNBC’s report.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reportingRead through a reader relay
Qualification and date notes
The record rests on reporting: AP and CNBC relay LeCun's social-media post, which was not retrieved (LinkedIn is not admissible through the checker; the Threads copy was not found). It establishes the announcement, not the actual last day.
Announcement date. The planned leaving date ('the end of the year') is as reported, not a confirmed last day.
2026Record year · 4 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedRead through a reader relay
Activity: announced
Qualification and date notes
CEO announcement; it does not establish Gross's title, his start date at Meta or a continuing role. TechCrunch’s report (reporting) adds that Gross joined Meta in 2025.
Announcement date. TechCrunch adds that Gross joined Meta in 2025; no start date is given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text
Qualification and date notes
First-person announcement. The post does not name the Meta role he left; the role attribute uses Meta’s December 2024 byline (context evidence), so it is not established as his title when he left. No end date at Meta is established.
Date of the post; the last working day at Meta is not stated.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
Publication means a public document expression exists. Publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice. The framework’s own change log dates Version 2 April 7, 2026, a day before the announcement.
Date of Meta’s announcement; the framework’s change log dates the version April 7, 2026.
Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
This records replacement in the publisher’s documented framework sequence. It does not retire historical claims or prove implementation. Meta calls Version 2 the second iteration of the same framework under a new name.
Date of the Version 2 announcement.
Date unknownRecord year · 2 claims
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
The page names “Meta AI”; the period and unit are not stated, and no FAIR membership or title is inferred. The same page says he is “working on a startup” without naming Moonshot AI.
Undated statement on a mutable personal page read on 2026-10-15; no dates or position given.
Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported
Qualification and date notes
A self-description on an undated personal page; dates and title are not established.
The undated page gives no dates for this role.