Records found and checked by machines, not reviewed by an editor · What this means →

Record explorer

Explore the documentary record

Every claim links to its source passage,
its dates where known and its limits.

Institutional dossier

xAI

Built from the same claims and evidence as the map.

Institutional dossier

The documented history of xAI: chronology, people, research, capital and compute, and governance. Every statement opens its source and its limits.

Records dated 2014-12-22 to 2026-07-06 · 15 undated

77 claims · 36 sources · 76 not editorially accepted. The counts describe this selection. They do not measure completeness or independent confirmation.

Scope, evidence and limits

Description: The AI organisation named in the 2023 public launch and 2024 financing and Colossus announcements. Later corporate changes are outside this historical slice.

The records are grouped automatically. No human inspection of the selected claims, source paths or framing is recorded for this dossier. Each source passage shows how it was checked.

The dossier is computed from existing records. It is not a continuous history of the institution, and a missing record does not mean that an event or relationship did not happen. The chronology uses the dates of events and reports, not the date the public could first have known of them. Later sources can describe earlier events.

Select any statement to see its exact claim, qualification, date note, evidence passage, location in the source, source version and review status. The description above is Selekoa’s stored description of the institution, based on these sources:

Connected institutional dossiers

Institutions linked by a documented relationship. Each keeps its own chronology and evidence. When units combine, their earlier records stay separate.

  • Open X (social media company) dossier →
  • Open SpaceX dossier →
  • Open SpaceX dossier →
  • Open SpaceXAI dossier →

Chronology

Records about the institution itself and documented changes to its frameworks, by year. Expand a year to read the claims. People’s other institutional records and related documents have their own sections. Where a date gives only the year or month, the order within it is unknown.

2023Record year · 14 claims
  1. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Roster snapshot only; no precise rank, start date, or continuing employment is inferred.

    Snapshot at the dated source announcement; no employment interval or current appointment is inferred.

  2. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Contemporaneous secondary report; original archive unavailable. Roster membership does not establish a co-founder title, start date or current role.

    Role snapshot at the dated source; no start, end or continuing appointment inferred.

  3. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Roster snapshot only; no precise rank, start date, or continuing employment is inferred.

    Snapshot at the dated source announcement; no employment interval or current appointment is inferred.

  4. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Contemporaneous secondary report; original archive unavailable. Roster membership does not establish a co-founder title, start date or current role.

    Role snapshot at the dated source; no start, end or continuing appointment inferred.

  5. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedRests on reporting

    Activity: announced

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting (Ars Technica) of xAI's launch announcement, which was not retrieved. An advisory role, not employment; xAI named no safety lead in the sources retrieved. The record does not establish how long the role lasted.

    Date of xAI's launch and of the report; not a start date.

  6. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting of xAI's launch web page, which was not retrieved directly. Roster membership is not a title or hiring date.

    Snapshot of the roster shown on xAI's website at launch, as reported.

  7. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting of xAI's launch web page, which was not retrieved directly. Roster membership is not a title or hiring date.

    Snapshot of the roster shown on xAI's website at launch, as reported.

  8. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting of xAI's launch web page, which was not retrieved directly. Roster membership is not an incorporation role, hiring date or continuing appointment.

    Snapshot of the roster shown on xAI's website at launch, as reported.

  9. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting of xAI's launch web page, which was not retrieved directly. Roster membership is not a title or hiring date.

    Snapshot of the roster shown on xAI's website at launch, as reported.

  10. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting of xAI's launch web page, which was not retrieved directly. The source names 'Tony Wu'; identity with Yuhuai (Tony) Wu rests on his later self-identification as departing xAI.

    Snapshot of the roster shown on xAI's website at launch, as reported.

  11. 2023-07-12 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Public debut, not legal incorporation or sole founding. No organisational succession from OpenAI is implied.

    Historical event at the precision explicitly supported by the source; not the source-access date.

  12. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Roster membership is not an incorporation role, exact hiring date or continuing appointment.

    Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.

  13. 2023-07-12 · snapshotpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Roster membership is not an incorporation role, exact hiring date or continuing appointment.

    Historical source snapshot; no continuing appointment or capacity is inferred.

  14. 2023-11-03 · publicationideas

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The page header dates this expression November 3. Listed research directions do not establish implemented techniques or demonstrated capabilities.

    Date of this source expression; not an invention or implementation date.

2024Record year · 9 claims
  1. 2024 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on retrospective reporting; no announcement by Kosic or xAI was retrieved. It does not establish his OpenAI role or later moves.

    The source says 'mid-2024'; this is the reported departure period, not an announcement date.

  2. 2024-03-17 · publicationgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Scope is the base checkpoint and architecture: the announcement says pretraining ended in October 2023 and the checkpoint was not dialogue-fine-tuned. No claim that training data or all development artifacts were released.

    Date of this source expression; not an invention or implementation date.

  3. 2024-05-21 · publicationgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Listing is the convener’s statement. It is not evidence that the organisation complied with, implemented or still maintains the commitments, and the legal effect of being listed is not recorded.

    First publication of the GOV.UK text, on the opening day of the AI Seoul Summit; the Internet Archive capture of 2024-05-21 has the sixteen-name list.

  4. 2024-05-26 · eventcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: announced

    Qualification and date notes

    Sequoia’s individual contribution and ownership percentage are not disclosed. The $6 billion round total is a separate claim.

    The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.

  5. 2024-05-26 · eventcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: announced · exact USD 6,000,000,000 · round total

    Qualification and date notes

    This is the total announced round, not valuation, realised spending, or an individual investor’s contribution. Literal claims appear in the inspector and timeline, without invented graph nodes.

    The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.

  6. 2024-10-28 · snapshotcompute

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    This is a supplier’s account of use at the stated date; legal ownership and independent performance verification are not established.

    The date identifies this documented announcement or publication; it does not establish a continuing state.

  7. 2024-12-23 · announcementcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: closed

    Qualification and date notes

    NVIDIA’s contribution amount and ownership share are not disclosed. Participation does not establish financing of particular hardware.

    Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.

  8. 2024-12-23 · announcementcompute

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: planned · exact 200,000 NVIDIA Hopper GPUs (combined total) · Soon; no specific completion date disclosed.

    Qualification and date notes

    Future total, not 200,000 additional GPUs or an operational count at this date. Supplier is identified in the quantity, not an inferred purchase contract.

    Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.

  9. 2024-12-23 · announcementcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: closed · exact USD 6,000,000,000 · round total

    Qualification and date notes

    Total for Series C, not a valuation or any investor’s contribution. Distinct from the existing May 2024 Series B total. Actual closing day is not separately provided.

    Announcement date; the transaction stage is separately recorded.

2025Record year · 9 claims
  1. 2025 · snapshotcompute

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: operational · more than 1,000,000 H100 GPU equivalents across Colossus I and II

    Qualification and date notes

    Company-reported aggregate equivalence metric, not a count of installed H100 chips or independently measured available training capacity.

    Year-end 2025 capacity as retrospectively reported on January 6, 2026; day precision is not supplied.

  2. 2025-02 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on retrospective reporting; no post by Szegedy or statement by xAI was retrieved. It does not establish his next position.

    Reported departure month, not an announcement date.

  3. 2025-03-28 · announcementinstitutions

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Reported acquisition announcement, not an independently checked closing or legal-entity chain. Reuters explicitly says deal specifics and integration arrangements remained unclear.

    Announcement date, not an independently verified transaction completion date.

  4. 2025-07-09 · snapshotcompute

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: operational · exact 200,000 GPUs in Colossus

    Qualification and date notes

    Company-reported use and cluster size; no independent performance, ownership or precise GPU-generation split inferred. Not a claim that training began on the publication date.

    State reported at this date; no exact start, completion date or current continuity inferred.

  5. 2025-07-31 · announcementgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    An announced intention limited to one chapter, read from the post’s text as returned by X’s oEmbed endpoint; the account is now named SpaceXAI. The post’s criticism of the Code’s other parts is not recorded.

    Date of the post as given by X’s public oEmbed endpoint.

  6. 2025-08-01 · publicationgovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The Commission’s statement of a signature limited to one chapter. The same sentence says xAI will have to demonstrate compliance with the AI Act’s transparency and copyright obligations by alternative adequate means; the legal consequence of a chapter-limited signature is set aside.

    The sentence first appears in the Internet Archive capture of 2025-08-01 and is still on the live page (last update 31 July 2026).

  7. 2025-08-13 · announcementpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    Reuters quotes his last-day announcement; the underlying social post was not independently retrieved. No reason for departure or end of every association is inferred.

    Announcement date, not an independently verified transaction completion date.

  8. 2025-12-30 · revisiongovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled revision; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.

    The printed update date is retained; it is not silently treated as publication. The URL filename says December 31; the visible document says last updated December 30.

  9. 2025-12-30 · revisiongovernance

    Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The edition’s own statement about SB 53, quoted from it. It is not evidence that the edition satisfies the statute, that its publisher is a frontier developer under it, or of implementation or compliance. This is xAI's own assertion that the FAIF document complies with TFAIA. It is not evidence of compliance. Whether the FAIF satisfies the Act, and whether and how the Act applies to xAI, are legal questions left to the stop list. The edition's footnote 1 quotes TFAIA's catastrophic-risk definition. This record complements the existing record of the June 2026 edition’s changes, which notes that the June 2026 edition lacks the sentence, and does not duplicate it. The evidence for that record already quotes the sentence's opening words from the same PDF, so the overlap counts against this document's quotation budget.

    Printed 'Last updated: December 30, 2025' date of the edition, matching the dataset's existing record. The URL filename says 2025-12-31. No publication date is inferred.

2026Record year · 16 claims
  1. 2026 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; no statement by Dai or xAI was retrieved.

    Reported only as between January and 25 March 2026; no exact date or announcement is known.

  2. 2026-01-06 · announcementcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: closed

    Qualification and date notes

    The announcement supplies no NVIDIA contribution amount or instrument; the full round total must not be assigned to NVIDIA.

    Announcement date, not an independently verified transaction completion date.

  3. 2026-01-06 · announcementcapital

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Stage: closed · exact USD 20,000,000,000 · round total

    Qualification and date notes

    Company-reported closed round total; not the earlier $15 billion target, valuation, cash-spending figure or any investor’s contribution.

    Announcement date, not an independently verified transaction completion date.

  4. 2026-01-20 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person post. It records a move to an informal advisory role, not a complete end of association.

    Date of the post; he wrote that the change started that day.

  5. 2026-02-02 · announcementinstitutions

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    First-party announcement only. No valuation, legal succession, later branding identity or independently verified closing is asserted.

    Announcement date, not an independently verified transaction completion date.

  6. 2026-02-10 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person post; it does not name his title or a next position. The date is the post’s UTC date, and “today” is read relative to it; the author’s time zone is not known (in US Pacific time the post falls on 9 February).

    UTC date of the post (06:47 on 10 February).

  7. 2026-02-11 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person post; it does not give a title or any later relationship beyond staying close to the team.

    UTC timestamp of the post (00:05 on 11 February; 10 February in US time zones).

  8. 2026-02-27 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person post; it does not name his title at xAI or a next position.

    UTC timestamp of the post (01:07 on 27 February; 26 February in US time zones).

  9. 2026-03-13 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person post; it does not name his title or a next position.

    UTC timestamp of the post (02:39 on 13 March; 12 March in US time zones).

  10. 2026-03-25 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting based on unnamed insiders; no statement by Kroiss or xAI was retrieved. The role is as reported.

    Date of the report; neither the internal announcement date nor a last day is given.

  11. 2026-03-28 · eventpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting based on unnamed people; no statement by Nordeen or xAI was retrieved. It records the report, not a dated departure or a last working day.

    Date of the report, which is the event this record dates. The report places the departure only “this week” and gives no day; the departure itself was on or before 28 March 2026 and its exact date is unknown.

  12. 2026-05-06 · eventinstitutions

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedX syndication text

    Activity: announced

    Qualification and date notes

    A stated plan in a reply post by Musk; it does not establish a legal dissolution or merger, or its date.

    Date of the statement of intent; no effective date for a dissolution is given.

  13. 2026-06-30 · effectivegovernance

    Record about this institution’s framework · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    The edition’s own words, recorded as naming the chapter as the basis of its risk domains. It is not a statement that the framework complies with the Code, and it is not evidence of compliance.

    The edition’s stated effective date.

  14. 2026-06-30 · effectivegovernance

    Record about this institution’s framework · Inferred · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Inferred textual comparison only. Absence of this sentence establishes neither noncompliance nor revocation of legal obligations, and does not measure safety or policy effectiveness. No explicit supersession statement was located.

    The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.

  15. 2026-06-30 · effectivegovernance

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported

    Qualification and date notes

    Publication means a public document expression exists. The date is labelled effective; publication is not evidence that its requirements were implemented or effective in practice.

    The stated effective date is retained; a separate publication day is not inferred.

  16. 2026-07-06 · announcementinstitutions

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported AnnouncedX syndication text

    Activity: announced · name announcement

    Qualification and date notes

    A brand announcement on X; it does not establish a change of legal name. Nothing retrieved states that the posting account is xAI’s former account (@xai): the post was requested at x.com/SpaceXAI, its @spacexai mention resolves to the posting account’s own user ID, and Musk wrote on 6 May 2026 that xAI would just be SpaceXAI (context). The pre-rename handle and the later renaming to SpaceX Super Intelligence are not recorded as claims here.

    Date of the post.

Date unknownRecord year · 11 claims
  1. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Editorially acceptedHuman-reviewed evidence

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person co-founder attribution only, not independent confirmation of legal founding history. No complete founder roster or legal status is established.

    This retrospective co-founding statement supplies no date. The separately dated launch roster is not treated as a founding or incorporation date.

  2. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported X syndication text

    Qualification and date notes

    First-person retrospective attribution; it does not establish the legal founding history or full founder roster.

    Retrospective first-person statement; no founding date is given. See the July 2023 launch roster.

  3. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; Dai is named in a list of cofounder departures. Not a legal founder record.

    No founding date is given for Dai.

  4. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; the source counts a 12-person founding team, while Business Insider (context) describes the cofounders as 11 engineers who helped launch the company alongside Musk. The roster’s composition is not independently established.

    Retrospective reporting; no founding date is given for Kosic.

  5. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; not a legal founder record.

    The source gives 2023 for the launch, not a founding date for Kroiss.

  6. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting based on insiders; not a legal founder record.

    The source gives the year 2023 for the company's founding, not a date for Nordeen.

  7. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; Pohlen is named in a list of cofounder departures. Not a legal founder record.

    No founding date is given for Pohlen.

  8. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; see the qualification on Kosic's record about the 11/12 count. Not a legal founder record.

    Retrospective reporting; no founding date is given for Szegedy.

  9. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; Wu is named in a list of cofounder departures. Not a legal founder record.

    No founding date is given for Wu.

  10. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; Yang is named in a list of cofounder departures. Not a legal founder record.

    No founding date is given for Yang.

  11. Date unknownpeople

    Record about this institution · Stated in source · Supported Rests on reporting

    Qualification and date notes

    The record rests on reporting; Zhang is named in a list of cofounder departures. Not a legal founder record.

    No founding date is given for Zhang.