Claim and evidence Close ×
The joint AMD–OpenAI release of 6 October 2025 stated that AMD had issued OpenAI a warrant for up to 160 million shares of AMD common stock, vesting as milestones are achieved: the first tranche with the initial 1 gigawatt deployment, further tranches as purchases scale up to 6 gigawatts, and vesting further tied to AMD share-price targets and to OpenAI technical and commercial milestones. Copy claim link
Copy claim reference
Machine-checked, not reviewed by an editor Stated in source Supported
Supporting evidence: primary · 1 source
Date 2025-10-06 · announcement Stage announced Quantity up to · 160,000,000 shares of AMD common stock (as worded: 'up to 160 million shares') Scope and limits Records the warrant as AMD describes it. It does not show that any tranche has vested or been exercised, the exercise price, or the share-price targets, which the release does not state.
The evidence 03 primary source Supports the claim
AMD and OpenAI Announce Strategic Partnership to Deploy 6 Gigawatts of AMD GPUs ↗ AMD (Investor Relations) · 2025-10-06
Copy source reference
Cite the original source Cite the original document, not Selekoa. Check these details against it.
Copy APA
Download BibTeX Download RIS Download CSL-JSON
Source excerpt “AMD has issued OpenAI a warrant for up to 160 million shares of AMD common stock, structured to vest as specific milestones are achieved.” Location in source body, paragraph 4
How it was read Retrieved directly from the publisher
Machine-checked · 2026-10-30
Source details and check notes Authors AMD (Investor Relations) Version Retrieved for the candidate pack on 2026-10-28 (SHA-256 ba034c7b34d3bc716b7f26832720c7b2c69434f2b15b0d5634b0e50924ce589e). Press release (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) on ir.amd.com as served on 2026-10-28; dated October 06, 2025, 7:00 am EDT. OpenAI's own post on the same announcement could not be retrieved (openai.com refuses direct retrieval from this environment); the cross-family checker should open it or its capture. Retrieved again at admission on 2026-10-30 (SHA-256 ba034c7b34d3bc716b7f26832720c7b2c69434f2b15b0d5634b0e50924ce589e, the same bytes). Its wording can change; earlier wording is not authenticated. Canonical address Open the canonical source ↗ Accessed 2026-10-28 Language English (en) Attribution AMD (Investor Relations), “AMD and OpenAI Announce Strategic Partnership to Deploy 6 Gigawatts of AMD GPUs”, 2025-10-06. Reuse No open redistribution licence asserted. Bibliographic metadata, editorial paraphrases and short attributed quotations (at most 50 words each). Recheck terms before wider redistribution. Check notes Candidate pack passage, compute, power and orbit (research/compute-power-orbit). The quotation (24 words) matched the text retrieved for the candidate pack on 2026-10-28 and again at admission on 2026-10-30, in a fresh retrieval whose SHA-256 equals the pack’s. Matching ignored differences of whitespace, case, quotation marks, dashes and Unicode compatibility forms, so the source’s typography can differ. A cross-family machine check (2026-10-29/30, item 63) answered the record’s question blind from fresh retrievals and agreed with the record. No human editorial review. primary source Supports the claim
AMD and OpenAI Announce Strategic Partnership to Deploy 6 Gigawatts of AMD GPUs ↗ AMD (Investor Relations) · 2025-10-06
Copy source reference
Cite the original source Cite the original document, not Selekoa. Check these details against it.
Copy APA
Download BibTeX Download RIS Download CSL-JSON
Source excerpt “The first tranche vests with the initial 1 gigawatt deployment, with additional tranches vesting as purchases scale up to 6 gigawatts.” Location in source body, paragraph 4
How it was read Retrieved directly from the publisher
Machine-checked · 2026-10-30
Source details and check notes Authors AMD (Investor Relations) Version Retrieved for the candidate pack on 2026-10-28 (SHA-256 ba034c7b34d3bc716b7f26832720c7b2c69434f2b15b0d5634b0e50924ce589e). Press release (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) on ir.amd.com as served on 2026-10-28; dated October 06, 2025, 7:00 am EDT. OpenAI's own post on the same announcement could not be retrieved (openai.com refuses direct retrieval from this environment); the cross-family checker should open it or its capture. Retrieved again at admission on 2026-10-30 (SHA-256 ba034c7b34d3bc716b7f26832720c7b2c69434f2b15b0d5634b0e50924ce589e, the same bytes). Its wording can change; earlier wording is not authenticated. Canonical address Open the canonical source ↗ Accessed 2026-10-28 Language English (en) Attribution AMD (Investor Relations), “AMD and OpenAI Announce Strategic Partnership to Deploy 6 Gigawatts of AMD GPUs”, 2025-10-06. Reuse No open redistribution licence asserted. Bibliographic metadata, editorial paraphrases and short attributed quotations (at most 50 words each). Recheck terms before wider redistribution. Check notes Candidate pack passage, compute, power and orbit (research/compute-power-orbit). The quotation (21 words) matched the text retrieved for the candidate pack on 2026-10-28 and again at admission on 2026-10-30, in a fresh retrieval whose SHA-256 equals the pack’s. Matching ignored differences of whitespace, case, quotation marks, dashes and Unicode compatibility forms, so the source’s typography can differ. A cross-family machine check (2026-10-29/30, item 63) answered the record’s question blind from fresh retrievals and agreed with the record. No human editorial review. primary source Supports the claim
AMD and OpenAI Announce Strategic Partnership to Deploy 6 Gigawatts of AMD GPUs ↗ AMD (Investor Relations) · 2025-10-06
Copy source reference
Cite the original source Cite the original document, not Selekoa. Check these details against it.
Copy APA
Download BibTeX Download RIS Download CSL-JSON
Source excerpt “Vesting is further tied to AMD achieving certain share-price targets and to OpenAI achieving the technical and commercial milestones” Location in source body, paragraph 4
How it was read Retrieved directly from the publisher
Machine-checked · 2026-10-30
Source details and check notes Authors AMD (Investor Relations) Version Retrieved for the candidate pack on 2026-10-28 (SHA-256 ba034c7b34d3bc716b7f26832720c7b2c69434f2b15b0d5634b0e50924ce589e). Press release (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) on ir.amd.com as served on 2026-10-28; dated October 06, 2025, 7:00 am EDT. OpenAI's own post on the same announcement could not be retrieved (openai.com refuses direct retrieval from this environment); the cross-family checker should open it or its capture. Retrieved again at admission on 2026-10-30 (SHA-256 ba034c7b34d3bc716b7f26832720c7b2c69434f2b15b0d5634b0e50924ce589e, the same bytes). Its wording can change; earlier wording is not authenticated. Canonical address Open the canonical source ↗ Accessed 2026-10-28 Language English (en) Attribution AMD (Investor Relations), “AMD and OpenAI Announce Strategic Partnership to Deploy 6 Gigawatts of AMD GPUs”, 2025-10-06. Reuse No open redistribution licence asserted. Bibliographic metadata, editorial paraphrases and short attributed quotations (at most 50 words each). Recheck terms before wider redistribution. Check notes Candidate pack passage, compute, power and orbit (research/compute-power-orbit). The quotation (19 words) matched the text retrieved for the candidate pack on 2026-10-28 and again at admission on 2026-10-30, in a fresh retrieval whose SHA-256 equals the pack’s. Matching ignored differences of whitespace, case, quotation marks, dashes and Unicode compatibility forms, so the source’s typography can differ. A cross-family machine check (2026-10-29/30, item 63) answered the record’s question blind from fresh retrievals and agreed with the record. No human editorial review. Status and meaning Editorial status. Not reviewed by an editor . An exploratory record that no editor has accepted. This status does not say whether a person has read any linked passage. Each evidence record above shows how it was checked.
Relation. A company states that it grants or issued a warrant or other right to acquire its shares, with its conditions. A right is not an exercised purchase or a holding.
Date. The release says the warrant "has" been issued; the issue date is not separately stated.
Record ID cpo-ch-amd-openai-warrant