Compare frameworks
What does each developer’s safety framework say on the same questions, edition by edition?
Each row is one question, worded so that it fits every framework. Each column is one framework, showing its latest edition unless you choose another. A cell gives what that edition says on the question, with the page, or records that no passage was found in a stated search. Six questions give the edition’s own words; the other twelve give Selekoa’s paraphrase, marked as such. The questions are Selekoa’s. An edition’s own terms, such as “ASL” or “Critical Capability Level”, appear only in quotation marks.
A status records what an edition states. It does not show implementation, compliance or effectiveness, and a shared row does not make two provisions equivalent.
A machine selected and arranged these records. No human review of the selection or framing is recorded.
What the statuses mean
- Stated
- A passage meets the question’s criterion as worded, however conditional or narrow its scope. The condition or scope is in the note.
- Stated, partly
- A passage has what the criterion asks for, but in a weaker form than the criterion’s own words: for example, no named person or body where the question asks for one, or a “may” where it asks for a statement that something will happen.
- Not found in the recorded search
- No passage meeting the criterion was found. The record lists the sections read, the search terms and every passage set aside, with the reason. It does not show that the developer lacks the practice, or that a provision was deleted.
- Does not apply
- The question does not apply: the edition is the first in its framework, so there is no earlier edition to change from.
Limits of this comparison
- Conditions that matter are in each cell’s note. A “stated” cell can carry conditions as important as those of a “stated, partly” one.
- The page compares and does not rank. There are no scores or totals, and columns are in a fixed order.
- Six questions, on required actions, who decides and exceptions, quote the edition. The other twelve, on risk domains, thresholds, evaluation timing, reporting and revision, give a paraphrase with the page, because quoting them as well would exceed Selekoa’s quotation limit for most editions. A paraphrase states what the passage says, in other words; read the edition at that page before relying on it.
- Passages were selected, checked and placed under each question by machine, and checked by a reviewer from a different model family. The maintainer decided the borderline cases. No editor has reviewed the records.
Editions shown: the latest of each framework
| Question | Anthropic · Responsible Scaling Policyv3.4 · effective 2026-07-08Edition text: Responsible Scaling Policy — v3.4Archived copy, captured 2026-07-10: Responsible Scaling Policy — v3.4 | Google DeepMind · Frontier Safety Frameworkv3.1 · published 2026-04-17Edition text: Frontier Safety Framework — v3.1Archived copy, captured 2026-04-23: Frontier Safety Framework — v3.1 | Meta · Frontier AI / Advanced AI Scaling Frameworkv2.0 · published 2026-04-08Edition text: Advanced AI Scaling Framework — Version 2Archived copy, captured 2026-04-08: Advanced AI Scaling Framework — Version 2 | Microsoft · Frontier Governance FrameworkFeb 2026 · revised 2026-02Edition text: Frontier Governance Framework — February 2026Archived copy, captured 2026-04-24: Frontier Governance Framework — February 2026 | OpenAI · Frontier Governance FrameworkMay 2026 edition · published 2026-05-28Edition text: Frontier Governance Framework — May 2026 editionArchived copy, captured 2026-05-29: Frontier Governance Framework — May 2026 edition | OpenAI · Preparedness FrameworkVersion 2 · published 2025-04-15Edition text: Preparedness Framework — Version 2Archived copy, captured 2025-04-15: Preparedness Framework — Version 2 | xAI · Frontier AI FrameworkJune 2026 edition · effective 2026-06-30Edition text: Frontier Artificial Intelligence Framework — June 2026 editionArchived copy, captured 2026-07-16: Frontier Artificial Intelligence Framework — June 2026 edition |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Risk domains covered | |||||||
| Chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weaponsThe edition names any of chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weapons (alone or combined) as a domain it tracks or sets a threshold for. | Stated
Note: Chemical and biological weapons are named in two threshold rows (“Non-novel” and “Novel chemical/biological weapons production”); v3.3 redefined the novel row as AI systems that can stand in functionally for the scarce specialist expertise that is the main barrier to developing novel weapons (see “Stated changes from the previous edition”). Radiological and nuclear weapons are not named as thresholds; “CBRN” appears only in changelog entries about earlier versions. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weapons | Stated
Note: One CCL (CBRN uplift level 1) and one TCL (CBRN uplift TCL), PDF p. 11. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weapons | Stated
Note: Chemical and biological risks are tracked with outcomes CB 1–CB 3 (§3.4.2). Radiological and nuclear risks are placed under 'Emerging Evaluations and Outcomes': outcomes that the edition says cannot yet be incorporated because ways of evaluating them are still nascent. No threshold is set for them. Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weapons | Stated
Note: Capability thresholds for low, medium, high and critical are set in Appendix I (PDF p. 12). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weapons | Stated
Note: CBRN has a three-tier table (PDF pp. 10–11). For nuclear and radiological threats the edition states continued research and development of threat models rather than tiers specific to them. Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weapons | Stated
Note: Biological and chemical capability is a Tracked Category with High and Critical thresholds; nuclear and radiological capability is a Research Category without thresholds (Table 2 lists a potential response). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weapons | Stated
Note: Detailed in §2.1(a) 'Addressing CBRN Risks' (PDF pp. 3–4); no numeric threshold is stated. Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear weapons |
| Cyber operationsThe edition names cyber attacks, cyber offence or cybersecurity uplift as a tracked domain. | Not found in the recorded search Open the search record: RSP · v3.4, Cyber operations | Stated
Note: One CCL: Cyber uplift level 1 (Table 2.2.2.a, PDF p. 12). Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Cyber operations | Stated
Note: Outcomes Cyber 1–3 (§3.4.1, PDF pp. 18–20) include large-scale compromise, discovery and exploitation of zero-day vulnerabilities, and scaled fraud, extortion and scams; operational thresholds are in §4.2.1. Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Cyber operations | Stated
Note: Capability thresholds in Appendix I (PDF p. 13). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Cyber operations | Stated
Note: Listed as 'Cyber offense' among the systemic risk categories (PDF p. 6), with a three-tier table (PDF p. 9). Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Cyber operations | Stated
| Stated
|
| Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and developmentThe edition names autonomous operation, replication, self-improvement, AI research and development automation, or loss of control through such capabilities as a tracked domain. Overlap rule: autonomy, self-replication and AI research and development are recorded here; loss of control or misalignment defined through deception or undermining human oversight is recorded under “Other named domains”. | Stated
Note: Named as a threshold row on automated R&D in key domains; the edition says its evaluations will for now focus on AI R&D. Autonomous, goal-directed operation appears as part of the “Misaligned AI systems in high-stakes settings” row (see “Other named domains”). No separate threshold for autonomous replication is set. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development | Stated
Note: Machine learning R&D is tracked in a combined “ML R&D and Misalignment” domain with ML R&D acceleration level 1 and ML R&D automation level 1 (Table 3.2.2.a, PDF p. 15) and the “Stealth and Situational Awareness TCL” (PDF p. 14). Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development | Stated
Note: Meta names one domain, Loss of Control, which the edition frames as failures of critical control mechanisms (PDF p. 22). Its outcome Loss of Control 1 rests on autonomous AI research and development and evaluation awareness, which the edition lists as example enabling capabilities of a control failure rather than as domains of their own (PDF pp. 22–23), with capability checkpoints in §4.2.3; it is recorded here. Its outcome Loss of Control 2, AI undermining monitoring, is recorded under “Other named domains” under the “Risk domains covered” overlap rule. Self-exfiltration and autonomous replication appear only as illustrative emerging threat scenarios (PDF p. 38). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development | Stated
Note: Advanced autonomy has capability thresholds in Appendix I (PDF p. 14). Loss of control, a separately named tracked capability that the edition defines through deceptive and other mechanisms that undermine human control (PDF p. 4), is recorded under “Other named domains” under the “Risk domains covered” overlap rule. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development | Stated
Note: The domain is framed as loss of control, with a three-tier table; self-improvement is named within it rather than as its own category. Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development | Stated
Note: AI Self-improvement is a Tracked Category. “Long-range Autonomy” and “Autonomous Replication and Adaptation” are named as Research Categories without thresholds (Table 2, PDF p. 8). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development | Stated
Note: The domain is framed as loss of control (described in the passage paraphrased here); autonomy, replication or automation of AI research and development are not named as separate tracked capabilities. §2.1(b) (PDF p. 4) describes oversight, training against deception and sycophancy, and sandboxed evaluation of agents. Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development |
| Persuasion or manipulationThe edition names persuasion or manipulation of people as a tracked domain. | Not found in the recorded search Open the search record: RSP · v3.4, Persuasion or manipulation | Stated
Note: One CCL marked exploratory: Harmful manipulation level 1 (Table 2.2.3.a, PDF p. 12). Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Persuasion or manipulation | Not found in the recorded search Open the search record: Meta AASF · v2, Persuasion or manipulation | Stated
Note: Named as a tracked high-risk capability. No thresholds are set: Appendix I says Microsoft is researching evaluation approaches and risk acceptance criteria for manipulation risk (PDF p. 15). Appendix I also says Microsoft prohibits use of its generative AI services in ways that include intentionally manipulating users' behaviour (PDF p. 15). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Persuasion or manipulation | Stated
Note: Named as one of the key risk categories and given its own section under §2.4 Risk tiers, without a tier table; the section calls the approach exploratory and says the tier needs more research and may change (PDF p. 11). §2.2 says risks are currently estimated for three categories (CBRN, cyber offense, loss of control), and that an approach for assessing harmful manipulation is at an early stage (PDF p. 7). Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Persuasion or manipulation | Stated, partly
Note: Named only as excluded: the passage states that persuasion risks fall outside the Framework's criteria, and the same paragraph describes other measures outside the Framework (the Model Spec, misuse monitoring). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Persuasion or manipulation | Stated
Note: Named as “Harmful Manipulation Risks” (footnote 1 attributes the term to the EU General-Purpose AI Code of Practice); unlike the other three domains it has no dedicated subsection in §2.1. Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Persuasion or manipulation |
| Other named domainsAny further domain the edition names as tracked (for example misalignment, deceptive behaviour, sabotage of oversight). Research categories or monitored-only domains are recorded with their status as worded. Overlap rule: loss of control or misalignment defined through deception or undermining human oversight is recorded here; autonomy, self-replication and AI research and development go under “Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development”. | Stated
Note: A threshold row on sabotage by AI systems. Its industry-wide column calls for compartmentalization, monitoring, capability assessments and evidence on whether models tend to deceive, manipulate or sabotage their users. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Other named domains | Stated
Note: Misalignment is no longer a separate exploratory section; it is part of the combined “ML R&D and Misalignment” domain, tracked through the “Stealth and Situational Awareness TCL”, which the edition describes (PDF p. 14) as a baseline capability level above which misalignment risks may start to arise. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Other named domains | Stated
Note: Meta names one domain, Loss of Control, one of the three areas the edition says the Framework currently focuses on (PDF p. 1). Under the “Risk domains covered” overlap rule its outcome Loss of Control 2, defined through AI undermining monitoring, is recorded here; Loss of Control 1 (autonomous AI research and development) is recorded under “Autonomy, self-improvement or AI research and development”. Physical autonomy (second passage) is listed under 'Emerging Evaluations and Outcomes' with a sample outcome and threat scenario, not incorporated into the thresholds. Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Other named domains | Stated
Note: A separately named tracked capability, recorded here under the “Risk domains covered” overlap rule because the edition defines it through deceptive mechanisms that undermine human control. No thresholds are set: Appendix I says Microsoft is researching evaluation approaches and risk acceptance criteria for loss of control risk (PDF p. 15). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Other named domains | Stated, partly
Note: No fifth category is named; misalignment and deception are named as sources of loss-of-control risk, not as separate categories. Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Other named domains | Stated
Note: Named as a Research Category, not a Tracked Category: the edition sets no thresholds for it. Table 2 also names Sandbagging as a Research Category; deception appears as an example within Undermining Safeguards. Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Other named domains | Stated, partly
Note: No domain beyond the four is named as tracked; safeguard circumvention is named as a focus alongside malicious use, and other risks only as a possibility. Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Other named domains |
| Thresholds and triggers | |||||||
| Named levels or thresholdsThe names and structure of the capability levels or thresholds the edition uses. | Stated
Note: The left column is headed “Capability or usage threshold” and has four rows with no ranking: non-novel chemical/biological weapons production; novel chemical/biological weapons production; “Misaligned AI systems in high-stakes settings”; automated R&D in key domains. Appendix B keeps “AI Safety Levels” (ASLs) only to refer to current levels of mitigation, not as a ladder of future capability levels. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Named levels or thresholds | Stated
Note: Two tiers. CCLs: CBRN uplift level 1, Cyber uplift level 1, Harmful manipulation level 1 (exploratory), ML R&D acceleration level 1, ML R&D automation level 1. TCLs: CBRN uplift TCL, Stealth and Situational Awareness TCL. Alert thresholds are defined for CCLs (PDF p. 5); the text uses “T/CCL” for both tiers. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Named levels or thresholds | Stated
Note: Table 1 (PDF p. 15) has three rows (Critical, High, Moderate or lower) with the measures 'Develop with Mitigations', 'Deploy with mitigations' and 'Deploy'. The High row describes deployment that could make a substantial contribution to a threat scenario linked to a catastrophic outcome. Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Named levels or thresholds | Stated
Note: Low, medium, high and critical levels are defined in Appendix I for three of the five tracked capabilities: CBRN weapons, offensive cyberoperations and advanced autonomy (PDF pp. 12–14). For the other two (loss of control, harmful manipulation), Appendix I says evaluation approaches and risk acceptance criteria are being researched (PDF p. 15). For low and medium levels the deployment requirement allows deployment under the Responsible AI Program's requirements; for high and critical, further review and mitigations are required. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Named levels or thresholds | Stated
Note: Tiers 1–3 are tabulated for cyber offense, CBRN and loss of control (PDF pp. 9–12); harmful manipulation has no tier table. Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Named levels or thresholds | Stated
Note: Two levels, High and Critical, are defined for each Tracked Category in Table 1 (PDF pp. 6–7). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Named levels or thresholds | Stated, partly
Note: Risk tiers are mentioned but not named or described. The edition states no numeric thresholds; the benchmark acceptance criteria of the December 2025 edition (biology and chemistry answer rate, MASK) do not appear. Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Named levels or thresholds |
| How a threshold is definedThe edition’s general definition of what reaching a threshold means (for example uplift relative to a baseline, or a capability that could cause severe harm). | Stated, partly
Note: No general definition of reaching a threshold is given: each row describes a capability at which heightened mitigations would be needed. Only the Automated R&D row is operationalized, with two alternative scenarios. v3.4 measures the doubling against both the expected rate and the fastest extended rate observed. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, How a threshold is defined | Stated
Note: Footnote 8 (PDF p. 11) says that in misuse T/CCLs “additional” harm is intended to mean harm beyond a baseline in which generative AI is absent. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, How a threshold is defined | Stated
Note: Appendix I defines 'substantially contribute' as the model being a material factor in an outcome (PDF p. 42). The critical threshold also covers a model that could be the unique enabler of a threat scenario whose risk cannot be mitigated (PDF p. 26); 'uniquely enabling' is defined as the model being an essential controlling factor (PDF p. 42). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, How a threshold is defined | Stated, partly
Note: No single general definition of reaching a threshold; the passage is the High row of the CBRN table, one example. Thresholds are qualitative descriptions per capability (§3, PDF p. 6; Appendix I). CBRN and cyber levels are framed as uplift to actors of a given skill; autonomy levels by task length and automation of AI research and development. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, How a threshold is defined | Stated
Note: Tiers are defined per risk category in §2.4 (PDF pp. 9–12). Separately, §2.1 defines systemic risk by severity, including a model materially contributing to over 50 fatalities or $1 billion in property damage or losses from a single incident (PDF p. 5). Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, How a threshold is defined | Stated
| Stated, partly
Note: The edition defines acceptability of systemic risk rather than a capability threshold; the acceptance criteria themselves are not stated. The edition says residual risk takes account of the scale and probability of harm (PDF p. 6). Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, How a threshold is defined |
| Required actions when a threshold is reached | |||||||
| Safeguards requiredSafeguards, mitigations or standards the edition requires (or states it will apply) for a model at or above a threshold. | Stated
Note: Company plans (middle column) are separated from industry-wide recommendations (right column), which the edition says it cannot unilaterally and unconditionally commit to. For the novel chemical/biological row the company column extends protections at least as strong as ASL-3 to more use cases; for the misaligned AI systems in high-stakes settings and Automated R&D rows it lists Risk Report disclosure, security and alignment projects rather than a named standard. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Safeguards required | Stated
Note: Recommended security levels: 'Security level 2+' (defined on PDF p. 9 as RAND SL2 plus insider-threat and non-state-actor measures) for CBRN, cyber and harmful manipulation CCLs; 3 and 4 for ML R&D CCLs. A parallel deployment process applies to ML R&D and Misalignment T/CCLs (§3.1.2). For the Stealth and Situational Awareness TCL, safeguards such as chain-of-thought monitoring are applied if residual risk from internal deployment is deemed unacceptable (PDF p. 14). Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Safeguards required | Stated
Note: Table 1 also assigns security measures: heightened access controls to model weights for High and Critical (for Critical 'as overseen by the Chief AI Officer and/or Director of Alignment and Risk … insofar as is technically feasible and commercially practicable'). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Safeguards required | Stated
Note: Safety mitigations are applied 'so that the model’s risk level remains at low or medium once mitigations have been applied' (PDF p. 8); critical-risk models are subject to 'the highest level of security safeguards' (PDF p. 8). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Safeguards required | Stated
Note: No tier-by-tier safeguard requirements are stated; safeguards are tied to residual risk being within acceptable levels. Security mitigations are listed in §3 (PDF pp. 16–17). Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Safeguards required | Stated
Note: Refers to High thresholds. Table 1 lists risk-specific safeguard guidelines, and Appendix C gives illustrative safeguards and the security practices required for High capability models (PDF pp. 17–22). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Safeguards required | Stated, partly
Note: Mitigations are not keyed to named thresholds; the closest threshold-linked provision is the risk-acceptance condition quoted under “Pause, non-deployment or non-training”. CBRN-specific heightened safeguards are triggered by prompts demonstrating intent (PDF p. 3). Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Safeguards required |
| Pause, non-deployment or non-trainingA statement that development, training or deployment will stop, pause or not proceed when required safeguards are not in place or a level is reached. | Stated
Note: Delay commitments are tied to Appendix A competitor scenarios (see “Provisions conditioned on other developers”); outside them the edition says it would 'strongly consider' pausing (conditional wording, added in v3.1). No passage commits to not training or deploying a model without adequate safeguards (the dataset records that provision as not found in this edition). Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Pause, non-deployment or non-training | Stated
Note: A deployment gate: external deployment (and, under §3.1.2, high-risk internal deployment) takes place only after a governance determination that residual risk is acceptable. The misuse deployment-mitigation acceptance criterion is 'required only for external deployment, not internal deployment or further development' (PDF p. 7). No passage states that development will be put on hold. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Pause, non-deployment or non-training | Stated
Note: Applies to either critical-threshold scenario. Development and deployment are conditioned on validated mitigations rather than stopped; for cyber, a model meeting the simple-suite threshold is provisionally rated high and 'such deployment will not be implemented' until complex evaluation is complete (PDF p. 29); the change log records the critical measure changing from 'Stop' to 'Develop with Mitigations' (see “Stated changes from the previous edition”). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Pause, non-deployment or non-training | Stated
Note: The pause is tied to unmitigable risk rather than to reaching a level; high or critical models are 'subject to further review and safety and security mitigations prior to deployment' (PDF p. 7). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Pause, non-deployment or non-training | Stated
Note: The condition is residual risk relative to acceptable levels, not a named tier; the statement concerns deployment, not training. Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Pause, non-deployment or non-training | Stated
Note: The deployment statement is conditioned on risks being 'sufficiently minimized'. §4.3 allows adjustment of required safeguards under stated conditions (see the competitor facet). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Pause, non-deployment or non-training | Stated
|
| Who decides | |||||||
| Determination of capability or safeguard adequacyThe person, office or body the edition names as making or approving the determination that a threshold is reached, that safeguards are adequate, or that a model may be deployed. | Stated
Note: The determination is tied to approval of a Risk Report rather than to a per-threshold capability or safeguards determination. The RSO's duties also include approving relevant model development or deployment decisions (§4, item 1). Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Determination of capability or safeguard adequacy | Stated
Note: The 'appropriate governance function' is not named. The same function may also exempt low-risk external deployments from a critical capability assessment (see “Other exceptions or discretion”). Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Determination of capability or safeguard adequacy | Stated
Note: Threshold assignment names both officers ('and'); the deployment decision names either ('or'). §2.3 adds that deployment follows 'with the approval of the Chief AI Officer' (PDF p. 10). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Determination of capability or safeguard adequacy | Stated
Note: No named role assigns the pre-mitigation score; the Executive Officers are those 'responsible for Microsoft’s AI governance program'. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Determination of capability or safeguard adequacy | Stated, partly
Note: The edition does not itself name who makes the acceptance or deployment determination; it names advisers and refers to the Preparedness Framework's Appendix B. Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Determination of capability or safeguard adequacy | Stated
Note: The SAG reviews the Capabilities Report and decides on next steps (§3.3, PDF p. 10) and assesses whether safeguards sufficiently minimize risk (§4.2, PDF p. 11); Appendix B gives OpenAI Leadership (the CEO or a designee) all final decisions, including deployment go/no-go (PDF p. 16). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Determination of capability or safeguard adequacy | Not found in the recorded search Open the search record: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Determination of capability or safeguard adequacy |
| Board or external oversightA role the edition gives to a board, board committee, trust, or external party in overseeing or reviewing those decisions. | Stated
Note: Otherwise the CEO and RSO share their decision(s), the Risk Report and internal feedback with the Board and LTBT after approval (§3.4 item 4). External reviewers of Risk Reports are selected with the Board consulted and LTBT approval required (from v3.2) and asked to publish commentary (§3.6); an approximately annual third-party review of procedural compliance is commissioned (§4). Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Board or external oversight | Not found in the recorded search Note: Internal reviews with escalation are described (§4.1, PDF p. 16); the facet asks for a board, trust or external party. Open the search record: FSF · v3.1, Board or external oversight | Stated, partly
Note: The board role is stated as general product and regulatory compliance oversight, not a specific role in framework decisions. An internal governance function periodically reviews risk management practices (same paragraph). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Board or external oversight | Stated, partly
Note: The board role is stated through general corporate governance; no specific board review of framework decisions is described. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Board or external oversight | Stated
Note: Material updates to the Framework go to the OpenAI Foundation board's Safety and Security Committee and the OpenAI Ireland Limited board for oversight (§7.1, PDF p. 21). Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Board or external oversight | Stated
| Not found in the recorded search Open the search record: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Board or external oversight |
| Evaluation cadence and timing | |||||||
| Evaluation timingThe edition’s statement of when evaluations are run: before deployment, at compute or capability intervals, on a calendar, or on another trigger. | Stated, partly
Note: The edition sets how often Risk Reports, which include capability and alignment evaluation results, are published, not a schedule for running evaluations. Its “Off-cycle updates” analyse an individual model when a publicly deployed model is significantly more capable than all models whose relevant risks have been publicly analysed, or within 30 days for qualifying internal models. Each Risk Report covers the position as of a coverage date no more than 30 days before publication. No compute- or capability-interval trigger is stated. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Evaluation timing | Stated
Note: Material capability change assessments are run on various checkpoints once a post-training run is completed (PDF p. 5). For later versions deployed externally, Google DeepMind decides if another critical capability assessment is needed where a model shows meaningful new capabilities or a material increase in performance and it believes these could materially undercut its justification for accepting the risks. No compute or calendar interval is stated. Footnote 4 (PDF p. 5) says the assessment may be skipped for low-risk external deployments, such as to a few trusted testers, if the governance function finds the residual risk acceptable, even where a T/CCL has been reached. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Evaluation timing | Stated
Note: The edition also says monitored indicators during development trigger further evaluations (PDF p. 5), preliminary assessments precede controlled deployments (PDF p. 8), and residual risk is assessed before deployment (PDF p. 6). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Evaluation timing | Stated
Note: Leading indicator assessment applies to models in scope of frontier-model laws (EU AI Act, TFAIA, RAISE Act) and to substantial fine-tuning, and the edition says models in scope undergo it at least every six months (PDF p. 6). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Evaluation timing | Stated
Note: §2.2 states that risk assessment may happen at any stage of a model's lifecycle (PDF p. 7); §4 describes lighter-touch evaluations at trigger points and a decision every six months on whether the Model Report needs updating (PDF p. 18). Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Evaluation timing | Stated
Note: Coverage is triggered by deployments (§3.2 lists covered deployments); a checkpoint during development is covered when forecasts and threat models justify it (PDF p. 10). No compute-interval trigger is stated. Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Evaluation timing | Stated
Note: The edition says smaller-scale evaluations may also be run at listed trigger points: an updated model release, a serious incident, materially increased risk from use or integration, or a material change in the basis for acceptability (PDF p. 2). Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Evaluation timing |
| Exceptions and discretion | |||||||
| Provisions conditioned on other developersA provision that relaxes, adjusts or conditions the developer’s safeguards or commitments on what other developers do or have (often called a “race” or “marginal risk” clause). Scope tests that decide whether a model is covered by the framework are recorded as context, not counted. | Stated
Note: Appendix A ('Commitments Related to Competitors') has three scenarios; the 'Anthropic in the lead' delay is recorded under “Pause, non-deployment or non-training”. §1 says Anthropic cannot unilaterally and unconditionally commit to the industry-wide recommendations, framing the change as a collective action problem. Where a decision relies on marginal risk analysis, Risk Reports add a competitive landscape analysis (§3.3) and need Board and LTBT approval (§3.4). Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Provisions conditioned on other developers | Stated
| Not found in the recorded search Note: Comparative scope and reference-class provisions, not a waiver of safeguards conditional on other developers. Appendix I compares a model with 'the most advanced models' (not limited to Meta's) to decide whether it is Frontier AI (PDF p. 41); §2.1.1 compares a planned model 'against our own models and those available externally' to identify a 'reference class' used to anticipate risks and required assessments (PDF p. 4). Both are recorded here as context. Open the search record: Meta AASF · v2, Provisions conditioned on other developers | Stated, partly
Note: A marginal-uplift consideration in the risk determination, measured against available tools and open-weights models; it does not state that measures change depending on other developers’ actions. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Provisions conditioned on other developers | Not found in the recorded search Note: Exemption from Model Report updates by reference to the EU Code of Practice's similarly-safe-or-safer test, whose safe reference model may be another provider's model (Code, Appendix 2.1); governs reporting only, not safeguards. Open the search record: FGF · May 2026 edition, Provisions conditioned on other developers | Stated
| Not found in the recorded search Open the search record: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Provisions conditioned on other developers |
| Other exceptions or discretionAny other stated exception, deviation, override or room for judgement in applying the framework. | Stated
Note: Further room for judgement: Appendix A says Anthropic will often have to use its best judgment on whether a competitor scenario applies; Risk Reports may record deviations from described mitigations (§3.2); redactions may be made for listed reasons 'not limited to' those (§3.5); a report is 'significantly redacted' in the judgment of the RSO, CEO, Board or LTBT (§3.6). Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Other exceptions or discretion | Stated
Note: §1.3.3 (PDF p. 6) says the specific mitigations implemented 'may be determined when a T/CCL is reached'. Security adequacy may also be assessed on other grounds than the recommended level (§1.3.5), and the closing Note says assessments 'will often involve some level of subjective analysis' (PDF p. 8). Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Other exceptions or discretion | Stated
Note: Other stated room for judgement: cyber capabilities may be made available 'to qualified and trusted customers where appropriate' (PDF p. 30); chemical and biological capabilities may be offered to trusted researchers 'with reduced mitigations via structured access controls' (PDF p. 33, research area), and non-material modifications are presumed to inherit the underlying model's threshold (PDF p. 17). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Other exceptions or discretion | Stated
Note: Point 2 is one element of the recommendation submitted for the deployment decision. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Other exceptions or discretion | Stated
| Stated
Note: Other stated room for judgement: threshold determinations reflect 'holistic judgment' (PDF p. 10); footnote 6 states that distilled, fine-tuned or quantized models from a model below High will ordinarily not require additional safety measures (PDF p. 10); disclosures may be redacted or summarized (PDF p. 14). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Other exceptions or discretion | Stated
Note: The December 2025 trusted-user and benefits-outweigh-benchmark clauses do not appear in this edition. Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Other exceptions or discretion |
| Transparency and reporting | |||||||
| Internal reportingReporting or records the edition requires inside the developer (to leadership, a board, staff or a compliance function). | Stated
Note: Also: the Board receives quarterly updates on noncompliance reports (§4); the Frontier Safety Roadmap is shared with every full-time employee, the Board and the LTBT (§2); the CEO and RSO, once they have approved a Risk Report, share their decisions, the report and the internal feedback with the Board and the LTBT (§3.4). Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Internal reporting | Stated, partly
Note: Submission for review of safety-case updates. §4.1 (PDF p. 16) describes, in general terms, legal, compliance and safety reviews that have escalation procedures, and §5.1 (PDF p. 17) says the updated Framework and the framework assessment will go to the appropriate corporate governance bodies for review. No dedicated internal reporting line or record-keeping requirement is stated. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Internal reporting | Stated
Note: Refers to employee reports of non-compliance under a protocol that the edition says Meta is developing. Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Internal reporting | Stated
Note: The edition also says all employees are encouraged to raise concerns through internal channels, anonymously if they choose, and are protected from retaliation (PDF p. 10). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Internal reporting | Stated, partly
Note: The passage records a documented justification but does not name its internal recipients. §2.6 states that the incident response plan includes notifying appropriate internal teams (PDF p. 14). Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Internal reporting | Stated
Note: The same item says employees may ask for, and receive, a summary of testing results and of the SAG recommendation, subject to limits for highly sensitive information (PDF p. 13). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Internal reporting | Stated
Note: No internal recipient is named. Employee escalation is listed as a channel for identifying incidents (PDF p. 8). Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Internal reporting |
| Public or external reportingDisclosure the edition says it will make to the public, to governments, or to other external parties, excluding publication of the framework itself (recorded under “Revision process and approval”). | Stated
Note: Also: the Frontier Safety Roadmap is published in redacted form (§2); external reviewers are asked to publish commentary within 30 days (§3.6.2); in the novel chemical/biological weapons row (PDF p. 7), the company column says threat-pathway content and policy recommendations will be shared with policymakers; where a noncompliance report is substantiated and involves a material safety risk, Anthropic “may” give public notice (§4). Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Public or external reporting | Stated
Note: Conditional wording (“aim to”). The trigger refers to CCLs only, not TCLs. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Public or external reporting | Stated
Note: The edition also says Meta will, as appropriate, give relevant authorities a summary of its assessments of risk from internal use in an internal-use risk report (PDF p. 9), and will publish a model spec and the results of evaluations of adherence to it (§2.2.3, PDF p. 9). Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Public or external reporting | Stated
Note: Public sharing is qualified in the same sentence: care is to be taken to minimise information hazards and to protect information that is commercially sensitive. The edition also says reports on serious or critical incidents go to regulatory authorities and affected customers as appropriate (PDF p. 9). Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Public or external reporting | Stated
Note: The first paragraph of §4 says results are recorded in a “Safety and Security Model Report”, which is called 'Transparency Reports' under the TFAIA. §7.1 states that changelogs for material updates are published within 30 days (PDF p. 21); as publication of the framework itself, that is recorded under “Revision”, not here. Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Public or external reporting | Stated
Note: §4.3 lists public acknowledgement as one of the conditions for adjusting safeguards on marginal-risk grounds (PDF p. 13). Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Public or external reporting | Stated
Note: External reporting is stated only for legally reportable incidents; the list of information that the December 2025 edition said xAI may publish does not appear. Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Public or external reporting |
| Revision | |||||||
| Revision process and approvalHow the edition says the framework will be reviewed, updated and approved. | Stated
Note: The same item says updated versions will be published on or before their effective date, with the differences recorded in the Change Log. The Introduction describes the RSP as a living document to be updated continually, and §2 says Roadmap goals may change. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Revision process and approval | Stated
| Stated
Note: The same sentence names a further trigger: reasonable grounds to believe that the Framework's adequacy, or Meta's adherence to it, has been undermined in a material way. The edition says published updates will include a justification recorded in the change log. Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Revision process and approval | Stated
Note: The edition adds that material revisions may, where appropriate, be published at the time of adoption. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Revision process and approval | Stated
Note: Being presented for oversight is not stated as approval: the edition names no approver. §7.1 states that updates may be proposed by named officers and bodies, that the Legal function oversees the update process, and that changelogs for material updates are published within 30 days (PDF p. 21). The edition describes itself as overlapping with the Preparedness Framework, which OpenAI says it will keep using and developing (PDF p. 4). Inspect sources and checks: FGF · May 2026 edition, Revision process and approval | Stated
Note: Appendix B (PDF p. 16): proposed changes to the Framework are reviewed by the SAG, whose recommendation is handled by the standard decision-making process, in which OpenAI Leadership makes final decisions. Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Revision process and approval | Stated
Note: No review interval or approval body for revisions of the framework is stated; the edition says the Security Goal is to be reviewed at least every year (PDF p. 7). Inspect sources and checks: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Revision process and approval |
| Stated changes from the previous editionThe edition’s own statement (changelog, introduction or summary) of what changed from its predecessor. Not applicable to the first edition in a sequence. | Stated
Note: Items 3–5 set a Risk Report coverage date that may be as much as 30 days before publication, require Anthropic to disclose publicly, in general terms, when it makes redactions in a published Risk Report, and allow external review to be split among reviewers provided every unredacted part is reviewed by at least one reviewer. Inspect sources and checks: RSP · v3.4, Stated changes from the previous edition | Stated
Note: The changelog's remaining Version 3.1 entries: Security Level 2+ for the CCLs in the CBRN, Cyber and Harmful Manipulation domains, to protect against insider threats and actors other than states; more detail on the risk management process; a description of the internal governance structure; and a glossary. Inspect sources and checks: FSF · v3.1, Stated changes from the previous edition | Stated
Note: The same change-log entry also records the rename from 'Frontier AI Framework', the addition of Loss of Control as a domain and of emerging areas (nuclear and radiological, physical autonomy), named decision-makers and incident response, transparency requirements, and a revised definition of Frontier AI. Inspect sources and checks: Meta AASF · v2, Stated changes from the previous edition | Stated
Note: The row describes a one-year update following the EU Code of Practice, the New York RAISE Act and California's TFAIA, and also lists adjusting the update cadence to regulatory obligations, aligning the framework's scope with regulations, adjusting the cadence of deeper capability assessment, defining substantially fine-tuned models, and other edits for clarity and transparency. Inspect sources and checks: Microsoft FGF · Feb 2026, Stated changes from the previous edition | Does not apply First edition in this framework; there is no earlier edition. | Stated
Note: The change log has 12 items (PDF pp. 15–16); others include introducing Research Categories (item 5), handling persuasion outside the Framework, moving Nuclear and Radiological to Research Categories, Capabilities and Safeguards Reports, deprioritising safety drills, the marginal-risk approach and the governance process. Inspect sources and checks: Preparedness · Version 2, Stated changes from the previous edition | Not found in the recorded search Open the search record: FAIF · June 2026 edition, Stated changes from the previous edition |